Samyang 35mm f/1.4 Review

« »

Reader Comments

  1. 1
    ) Peter
    July 15, 2013 at 8:20 am

    Great article! I can see the Zeiss fanatics dropping by the 100s after reading your analysis or seizing and expanding on any Samyang weaknesses to the tune of a $1300+ cost differential.

  2. 2
    ) Dublin Doohlin
    July 15, 2013 at 12:31 pm

    It may not have weather sealing, but it has survived several months of Irish weather (rain, for those of you not in the know) with daily outings by now. No condensation on the inside of the lens either. Perhaps you should think twice in the tropical downpour of Singapore or in the dust of the Arabian desert, but it handles “normal” bad weather just fine.

    • July 16, 2013 at 1:22 am

      Thank you for your feedback Dublin! Good to hear that the lens can take moisture well! :)

  3. 3
    ) Ankur
    July 15, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    Thanks for the in-depth review, Nasim!

    While this might be a typo, I just wanted to bring it to your attention. Under section “Samyang 35mm f/1.4 vs Nikon 35mm f/1.4G” – I think you meant to say Nikon 35mm f/1.4G instead of 1.8G.

    Text: The same thing happens at f/2. However, when stopped down to f/2.8, the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G takes over in the corners and performs better in comparison.

    • July 16, 2013 at 1:24 am

      Oops, definitely a typo! Thanks Ankur, I have just fixed it.

  4. July 15, 2013 at 3:08 pm

    Good review, thanks.

    I would highlight the same as Ankur, which can be somehow a little bit confusing :

    “While this might be a typo, I just wanted to bring it to your attention. Under section “Samyang 35mm f/1.4 vs Nikon 35mm f/1.4G” – I think you meant to say Nikon 35mm f/1.4G instead of 1.8G.

    Text: The same thing happens at f/2. However, when stopped down to f/2.8, the Nikon 35mm f/1.8G takes over in the corners and performs better in comparison.
    ” here : http://photographylife.com/reviews/samyang-35mm-f1-4/4 chapter 4. Lens comparisons

    Regards.

    • July 16, 2013 at 1:26 am

      Francois, I apologize for the typo, I should not work late hours … my QA process goes down the drain, LOL :)

      • 9
        ) Randall
        July 16, 2013 at 4:37 pm

        You sure aren’t in any hurry to review the nikon 18-35mm… You waiting for the next version to come out? ;-)

        • July 16, 2013 at 5:07 pm

          Randall, too many reviews, too little time…I am trying to work off whatever I have at the moment. Sigma was a priority and I already had data for the others, so might as well finish it up together…

          Nikon 18-35mm will be next and then the 800mm beast after that. I just need more than 24 hours in a day! :)

          • 11
            ) Randall
            July 17, 2013 at 9:24 pm

            Totally understand. Just like to give you a hard time. :-)

  5. 12
    ) oni
    August 6, 2013 at 7:06 am

    Hi Nazim, U are a great inspiration, how are U able to achieve those great clean crisp images, did U photoshop or “lightroom”? Despite shooting in RAW, using tripod, flashes etc, my images don’t look all that clean. Please need your guide.
    –Oni

  6. 13
    ) Ed
    January 23, 2014 at 11:58 am

    Nasim,

    Have you done a Imatest run on the Zeiss 35/2 on the D800e? If so would you include it in the review & comparisons? I am on the fence about what 35 to buy for my D800e …. I currently have a Samyang 35/1.4 that I am somewhat happy with but am looking seriously at the Zeiss 35/2 or Sigma 35/1.4. I really love the Zeiss rendering (have 21/2.8 & 25/2.8) just wondering how the 35/2 stacks up to the others. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

  7. 14
    ) Javier
    April 8, 2014 at 2:32 am

    Thank you for this review. I am curious to know how well this lens compares to the Nikkor 35/2 AF-D lens. I think it would be interesting to see how they compare at f/2 and f/2.8. The only point in buying a lens like this Samyang would be to use it at the larger apertures (f/1.4~f/2.8) so maybe we should see how it does against the less expensive lenses there.

  8. 15
    ) Romero
    July 24, 2014 at 6:05 pm

    Nice review, but I’d like to know if the hard stop at infinity focuses properly.

  9. 16
    ) Scott
    August 13, 2014 at 2:53 am

    Found one of these on eBay for $160 US, I’d never heard of the brand. After reading this review, I’m BUYING.

Comment Policy: Although our team at Photography Life encourages all readers to actively participate in discussions, we reserve the right to delete / modify any content that does not comply with our Code of Conduct, or do not meet the high editorial standards of the published material.

Leave a Comment