Nikon 300mm f/4D AF-S Review

« »

Reader Comments

  1. May 15, 2009 at 1:13 pm

    I’ve just got my 300mm F4 AF-S
    Here’s my first attempt with it

    • March 30, 2010 at 10:33 pm

      Colin, thank you for your feedback and congratulations with the purchase.

      P.S. Sorry for responding so late, I didn’t even see this comment :)

  2. 2
    ) kerry
    March 30, 2010 at 4:29 am

    I love that gooseberry shot! I am especially partial to close ups of plants and that has such wonderful colour and clarity.

    I myself am a Canon shooter and I hope to be able to buy the 300mm f4 IS lens along with a 1.4x teleconverter. I have a European Buzzard that comes to my field every morning and I would love to get some decent shots of him/her – not sure which sex it is. I have an interaction with him that I really treasure ( http://myworldinphotosandwords.blogspot.com/2010/03/what-strange-behaviour.html ) and I would love to have some special images to remember him by.

    • March 30, 2010 at 10:47 pm

      Thank you Kerry!

      It is unfortunate that Nikon has not yet updated this beautiful lens with image stabilization. Canon clearly has a lead in the lens department when it comes to telephoto lenses.

      Coupled with the 1.4x TC, the Canon 300mm f/4.0 IS lens will yield superb results that you will be very pleased with. Every birder I talk to loves that combination! Canon also has Canon 400mm f/5.6 lens, but it has no IS :(

      Your picture of Buzzard is beautiful! I left a comment under your post, but it has not showed up yet…

      • 5
        ) kerry
        March 30, 2010 at 11:14 pm

        Thanks for the comment Nasim. I am truly blessed to have my visitor.

        I have moderation on my posts as apparently there is a major problem with unpleasant comments that lead to unsavoury sites. :-( I must put a message to explain that.

    • 65
      ) robert mcneil
      December 8, 2011 at 11:17 am

      you will never look back with the 300f4 he uses a 40d and takes some amazing bird shots with send me your email and will send some to you

  3. 7
    ) Charlie Bierly
    April 22, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Nasim –

    Could you give us your experienced opinion or any testing you may have done in comparing the Nikon 300mm f4 with a TC 1.4 and the new 70-200mm f2.8 VRII and the new TC 2.0 III at 400mm?

    Thank you!

    • April 22, 2010 at 7:31 pm

      Charlie, the Nikon 300mm f/4.0 AF-S with 1.4x TC is much sharper than the 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII with the TC-20E III.

      • 8
        ) Charlie Bierly
        April 23, 2010 at 7:21 pm

        Thanks Nasim! I guess I have to pony up for the 300mm f4.

  4. 9
    ) Daniel
    June 28, 2010 at 6:16 am

    Nasim

    thanks for your review of the 300mm. I’m hesitating between this lens and the Sigma 150-500mm.

    Have you had the opportunity to try the Sigma yet ? Your thoughts and comments would be appreciated.

    Thanks !

    • June 29, 2010 at 10:29 pm

      Daniel, you are most welcome! Yes, I did try out the Bigma and while many photographers are quite happy with it, I have seen some bad samples out there with focusing problems and the one I tried had the same problem. If Sigma was a little more consistent in QA, I would have certainly recommended it. It is a cheap way to get to 500mm :)

      • 90
        ) Sree Krishna
        September 8, 2012 at 7:52 am

        Nasim,
        Thank you for your wonderful review of this lens. After having debated for a long time between this Nikon 300mm f4 +Nikon TC 1.4 combo and the sigma 150-500mm, I ultimately purchased the Nikon combo. Your review was very helpful to me to make my choice. Thanks again.

  5. 11
    ) Rocky
    July 6, 2010 at 7:34 am

    Nasim,
    Thanks for the reviews for the Nikon lenses, they are very informative. I am torn between getting a 70-200 vr2 w/ 1.4x or the 300 f/4, are they relatively the same in terms of sharpness? or would the 300 f/4 win it outright?

    Thanks again.

    • July 9, 2010 at 4:35 pm

      Rocky, the 300mm f/4.0 would win when it comes to sharpness. If you need the reach, go for the 300mm + 1.4x. Check out my latest bird shots – they are all taken with the 300mm f/4.0 AF-S.

  6. 12
    ) PAG
    July 6, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    It be interested if you ever pushed this lens a bit more by using a 1.7x or 2.0x teleconverter.

    FYI, the sandpiper in your shot is a Willet.

    • July 9, 2010 at 4:36 pm

      PAG, I did, but autofocus works extremely poorly and the images are not as sharp, even with the 1.7x.

      Thank you for pointing out the correct bird name, I changed it :)

  7. 15
    ) Praveen
    August 8, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    Hey Nasim
    This was a very interesting article. And you got great captures.
    I personally use a nikon d5000, so could you please advice some good[& cheap of course ;) ] lens along with a teleconverter that could do something similar.

    Cheers

    • August 18, 2010 at 3:26 pm

      Praveen, there is really no good “cheap” lens that can take teleconverters. Your best bet would be to get the Nikon 70-300mm VR lens, which will give you 300mm focal length.

      • 17
        ) Praveen
        August 18, 2010 at 6:37 pm

        Thanks Nasim I think I will go for those. But which would be the most ideal teleconverter for it considering I am into wildlife photography?

        Cheers

  8. 18
    ) Charlie
    August 18, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Praveen-

    There is no teleconverter for the 70-300mm Nikon VR. You would have to go to a Nikon 300mm f4 ($1500) with a teleconverter or a Sigma 150-500mm ($1000) to exceed 300mm. Or something similar.

    • September 1, 2010 at 11:31 pm

      Thank you for responding to Praveen Charlie!

  9. 21
    ) Adrian Cullen
    October 12, 2010 at 5:29 am

    Nasim

    Many thanks for your excellent review it helped me decide ( a few months ago) between a 70-300mm and the 300mm F4. I went for the fixed 300mm as it was principally required for wildlife and sports. Your review is very helpful and extremely clear. I look forward to your comments on the new 24-120mm Vr F4 as my main zoom is a little restricted 28-70mm F3.5-4.5, it’s nice and sharp as well as small but I could do with a single zoom with better range.

    thanks

    • October 22, 2010 at 1:26 am

      Thank you for your feedback Adrian!

      I will have my hands on the 24-120mm tomorrow and will be testing it for the next 2 weeks.

  10. 22
    ) Carlos Orozco
    October 12, 2010 at 3:44 pm

    Thank you very much Nasim for your deep review.
    I use do do Street and need a mid range tele; wich will be you advice in terms of Price to Sharpess/AF Speed:
    300mm F4 AFS
    180mm F2.8 AFD
    80-200mm F2.8 AFD
    All 3 are in the 800/1200usd range but I just can afford one.
    Best. Carlos

    • October 22, 2010 at 1:27 am

      You are most welcome Carlos!

      If you need the reach, the 300mm is clearly the right choice. Otherwise, the 80-200mm is a versatile lens for street photography.

  11. 25
    ) Runar
    December 20, 2010 at 6:42 pm

    Hi! what would be my best option? buying this lens for my D3 for soccer photography, or buying a D300S(for the reach) for use with my 70-200mm?

    Is the AF speed good enough on the 300mm f/4 AF-S to photograph fast action?

    Cheers!

    • January 6, 2011 at 5:16 pm

      Runar, 300mm f/4 will always give you better results than 70-200mm on a DX body. And yes, AF on the 300mm is super fast. I shoot birds with it.

  12. December 22, 2010 at 3:11 am

    Hi Nasim,
    I am currently using Nikon D300s & 70-300mm VR lens for birding (new to birding), I am not satisfied with this lens’ performance at its maximum reach'(at 200mm to 300mm range images seems soft), after reading your review about Nikon 300mm f/4 I almost decided to buy the same which is affordable to me.

    But I am not able to take a decision due to only one reason that, its a Non-VR lens;

    Is VR really matters the sharpness while shooting birds handheld, if matters a monopod(never used a monopod) can overcome this problem or we must use a tripod ?

    If we are following the shutter speed >=focal length (x 1.5) rule, this non-VR issue can be overcome to some extend ?

    Thanks

    • January 6, 2011 at 5:17 pm

      Shanavas, yes, just keep the speed >= focal length formula in mind and you will get sharp images.

  13. 27
    ) srinivas
    January 3, 2011 at 2:27 am

    Hi,
    I have a passin for photography.
    I had a nikon D5000 + sigma 150-500.
    I now also own nikon D300s.I find the sigma is very slow and wanted to upgrade myself.My options are Nikon 80-400 or AF-S Nikkor 300mm f/4D IF-ED + 1.4 teleconverter.If i go for 300mmf4 then i can use my 150-500 with my D5000 and 300f with my D300s.
    I need your sugetions to make my investment since i have budget only for these lenses.
    These are some of my pictures……..

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Srinivas-Me-and-Myself-Photography-as-an-hobby/139861309379973

    • January 6, 2011 at 5:18 pm

      Srinivas, the Nikon 300mm f/4D is much faster in AF performance than the 80-400mm VR. If you do birding, forget about 80-400 and get the 300mm f/4.

      • 31
        ) srinivas
        January 6, 2011 at 9:26 pm

        Dear Nasim,
        Thanx for your guidance. iam going for Nikon 300mm f/4D only.

  14. 32
    ) Scott
    January 9, 2011 at 10:29 pm

    Thank you for this thoughtful site! I have several questions:

    I own a D80, 18-200 VR I, 50mm 1.8, an SB-600 and a light duty Manfrotto tripod (7.7lbs max load). My passions are taking photos of my children and of birds. For birds, I’ve rented the 300mm f/4 and 500mm f/4 from time to time. I’ve been holding off purchasing the 300mm in hopes of a VR version coming out as my tripod doesn’t hold out so well when I’ve tried mounting heavier glass to it. Given my interests, I’m willing to delay my bird work to concentrate on taking better shots of my kids if replacing my D80 or adding something like a 70-200 f2.8 will make a substantial difference. If you only had the funds to change one thing in my setup, would it be the body or a different lens? I’ve been thinking that the 70-200 with a teleconverter might be OK for birding, but from your reviews, it sounds like the 300mm f/4 is a better way to go. Any thoughts?

    • January 10, 2011 at 11:55 am

      Scott, wait until Nikon announces the D4+D400 in February – they might announce some long lenses with those cameras. The 70-200mm is a great lens for portraits, but I don’t find it very useful for small birds – you will need the reach and sharpness of the 300mm f/4…

      I very much hope Nikon releases a lightweight 300mm VR lens soon. I would buy one in a heartbeat!

  15. 34
    ) Ajay
    January 13, 2011 at 4:13 pm

    Hi Nasim,
    Thanks for your helpful review of this lens. I am seriously considering buying this lens over the 70-200 f/2.8. One question that popped into my head is this – do I need to necessarily stick with Nikon TCs or can I use third party TCs? Do you have any experiences to share with TCs from other vendors like Kenko?
    Thanks!
    Ajay

    • February 21, 2011 at 11:07 am

      Ajay, I personally use Nikon TCs, since they are often of higher quality than other brands. You lose light and some quality when you use TCs, and it is best that you use the highest quality TC to have less impact on your image.

      Sorry for a late response!

      • 38
        ) Ajay
        February 21, 2011 at 11:32 am

        Thanks Nasim! I got similar feedback on other sites as well, so looks like Nikon TCs is the way to go.

        • 182
          ) Bruce Patton
          August 5, 2013 at 9:20 pm

          I have gotten very good results using the Kenko Pro 1.4x teleconverter. About $150 less than the equivalent Nikon. I have not directly compared it to the Nikon TC, I simply compared the sharpness with and without the TC. Like Nasim I have not obtained good results with the Nikon 1.7x TC with the 300mm f/4.

  16. 35
    ) Eddie
    January 27, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    Dear Nasim,

    Highly appreciate your comment for 300mm f/4.
    I’ve bought 70-200mm f/2.8 VRII before and I’m planning to buy 300mm f/4 for birding.
    I’m considering to buy TC 1.4 or TC 2.0 III which wil be used for both lens afterwards, which TC you’ll suggest?

    Many thanks!
    EDDIE

    • February 21, 2011 at 11:09 am

      Eddie, forget about using a 2x TC with the Nikon 300mm f/4.0 AF-S – it won’t autofocus and you will lose a lot of IQ/contrast. I can only recommend the Nikon 1.4x TC with the 300mm f/4.0. The Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8G VR II, on the other hand, is much better with TCs and I have used all three Nikon teleconverters with it successfully, although with the 2x you still have to stop down a little to get better sharpness.

      If you are after birds, just get the Nikon 300mm f/4.0 + 1.4x TC and you will have a great setup. Don’t try 1.7x or 2x with the 300mm – you will be disappointed.

      Sorry for a late response!

      • 39
        ) Eddie
        February 24, 2011 at 2:44 am

        Thanks Nasim!

        Many thanks for your valuable comment! I’ve bought 1.4x TC eventually and found that it’s perfect for birding.

        Thanks again!

        • February 25, 2011 at 5:19 pm

          Eddie, glad you like the combo!

          • 124
            ) Parth Jha
            February 21, 2013 at 3:42 am

            Now with new launched DSLRs D4,D800,D600 and newer D7100 for which Nikon claims that AF works well at f8, with 2x TCs, what would you suggest? I understand that the low IQ with Nikon 300f4 + 2X has no relation with autofocus capabilities, but dont we lose most of the images with the combo due to incorrect focus?

            Would love to have a your view on the same.

  17. 41
    ) Paul
    March 6, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    What are your thoughts on the older Nikon 300mm f4 AF IF ED lens? The newer AF-S version is out of my price range. Or would the Nikon 70-30mm VR model be better? I shoot wild life, and landscapes. Both handheld, and tripod.
    Thank You
    Paul

  18. 43
    ) thiru
    June 12, 2011 at 5:48 am

    nasim thanks for ur fantastic review , i own this lens now . i find it difficult to shoot handheld along with d 700 . can u give some tips for using it handheld . i have a tripod but im quite lazy for hanging out witha tripod .
    i think fast shutter speed could solve the purpose . what do u say

  19. 44
    ) James
    June 12, 2011 at 8:57 am

    I just got the Nikon 300mm f4. I’ve used it with the 1.4x Nikon teleconverter on my D7000. I am very happy with it. It’s as fast as I need, sharp, and light to handle. Autofocus is fine too.

    • 45
      ) James
      June 12, 2011 at 9:30 am

      Only minus is that there is no VR, but then again that would increase the price considerably. You have to make sure your shutter speed is not too low. I found that anything much below 1/250 can be a problem, which is to be expected when shooting with a 420mm (300 x 1.4), handheld, with no VR. Don’t mind the tradeoff for a lens this good and this useful.

  20. 46
    ) Donz
    June 18, 2011 at 6:00 pm

    People are keen on an updated version with VR, so I’m wondering if VR is actually needed if using this lens with a tripod?
    I have been looking into buying this lens and would mostly be using it on a tripod for surfing shots. I’m led to believe one should switch off the VR when using VR lens on tripods – is this correct?
    Feedback would be appreciated as I’m wondering whether to wait till Nikon upgrades this obviously fine lens, or to go ahead with purchasing the current version as I won’t be needing the VR for tripod work (…IF I’ve got my facts right, that is…)

  21. 47
    ) david k.c.
    July 3, 2011 at 1:06 am

    sir i have 3000mmafs 4/f nikon and d300s nikon camera , can you please guide me what programme will be good for bird photos just guide me thanking you.

  22. 48
    ) Kevin Tay
    August 8, 2011 at 8:00 pm

    Dear Nasim,

    I always enjoy reading your blog for more information about photography. I will said your blog is my information hub. haha! your lens review was excellence cover and provide alot information and i looking forward for your review on AF VR Zoom-Nikkor 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6D ED. anyway idea how the optical performance of this lens?

  23. 49
    ) Paul
    September 21, 2011 at 12:22 am

    The 300mm f/4 looks like a great lens. I am very tempted but I need some advice. I shot a lot of wildlife and recently have begun to shoot a lot of sports, indoor and outdoor, namely football outside and volleyball and basketball inside. I have been looking closely at the 80-200mm F2.8 AFD nikon lens because I think it might work quite well indoors. For football I was thinking of putting a 1.4x Nikon teleconverter or 1.7x Nikon teleconverter on the 80-200mm F2.8 AFD. I’m concerned with the AF speed using the teleconverter or if it would have little effect on it. Also, I love the sharpness of the pictures you have taken with the 300mm f/4, excellent. Could I expect similar sharpness with the 80-200mm F2.8 AFD lens when shooting wildlife? Any other suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

  24. 50
    ) Nibir
    September 26, 2011 at 9:52 pm

    i have a 55-300mm dx but it has very slow autofocus. I want a good auto focus lens, because the 55-300 focuses so slowly, that i have to use manual focus all the time (also in sports). i have missed many good shots this way. I am sick and tired.I have heard that the 300mm f/4 lens has good bokeh. So,Should i get the AF-D 80-200 f2.8 ,or this lens? pls suggest. Is the 300mm f/4 really worth it? i mean that it is a lot slower than the Af-d ( though it is longer), but ,do i really need need f/2.8?? p.s im a birder, so most of my shots are in low light, i.e either in the morning or in the sunset. in this case the f/2.8 renders to be much more useful. but i am still very confused.(since i already have upto 300mm, “longer” is not a factor). PLS REPLY!!!!!!

  25. 51
    ) Noam
    October 4, 2011 at 2:46 am

    Dear Nasim Mansurov,

    I read few of your reviews, and I want to compliment your examinations.
    very wonderful and professional works.
    this site is a real meaningful contribution to the photographer community.
    many many thanks for you.
    waiting to your next article ….

    bye
    Noam

  26. 52
    ) Prashant Sagare
    October 20, 2011 at 5:51 am

    I am very much interested in BIRD and I have decided to go for 150-500 mm of Sigma but after watching your bird photography I have decide to go for 300 mm f/4 of Nikon with 1.4 x teleconverter of Nikon for my Bird and Wild life photography. I have D90 camera means I will get focal length of 300 mm without tele converter 450 mm and with tele converter 630 mm. Right Sir.

    One question what about VR and without VR we have to practice a lot for this lens right??

    Please give your valuable comment for above.

    • October 26, 2011 at 2:40 am

      Prashant, yes, you would get an equivalent field of view of approximately 630mm with the 300mm + 1.4x TC. You don’t have to practice with this lens – just try to keep your shutter speed above 1/650 of a second and you should be good (use Auto ISO).

  27. 55
    ) Prashant
    October 26, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Dear Sir,

    Very thankful to you for giving your valuable reply to me. One more question I have almost finalized to go for NIKKOR 300 mm F/4 with 1.4 x tele converter. I only have a budget of 1600$ and
    is 300 mm is the right choice to go for bird and wild life photography? I saw so many images of this lens and sharpness of this lens is just awesome.
    I also want to buy MACRO lens of NIKKON and want your suggestion for the same. Can I go for 85 mm f/2.8 or 105 mm f/2.8 ??

    Thanks and best regards,

    Prashant Sagare

    • October 28, 2011 at 4:46 pm

      Prashant, yes, the Nikkor 300mm f/4 is an awesome lens and will work great with the TC-14E. Most of my images in my gallery are shot with this lens.

      As for Macro, go with the Nikon 105mm f/2.8G or the Nikon 200mm f/4D.

  28. 56
    ) Noam
    October 26, 2011 at 11:06 am

    Dear Nasim Mansurov,

    I am interesting in macro len for Nikon D700.
    I found good opinion on Sigma 180mm f3.5.
    my questions:
    1. do you know this len and what do you think ?
    2. did you check the Nikon 200mm macro ?
    3. Actually, I need the best focus and field-depth. which len can you please recommand ?

    many thanks
    Noam

    • October 28, 2011 at 4:45 pm

      Noam, if you want the best macro lens for the Nikon mount, get the Nikon 200mm f/4 – there is nothing better than the 200mm out there for macro. I have not tried the Sigma, so I cannot comment on its performance.

  29. 59
    ) Srikanth Iyengar
    November 13, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    Nasim, I own Nikon D60 am pretty happy with the results. Do you have any guess when Nikon releases D400 ? Currently, I can afford for 300mm f/4 with 1.4 TC is it really a good Idea to use 300mm with D60. I am sure I will get decent pictures with that combination, my worry is the weight of the body and lens will that do well?

    Thanks.
    Srikanth K Iyengar.

  30. 60
    ) Chuck R
    November 26, 2011 at 6:19 pm

    Nasim
    The Nikon 300mm f/4.0 + 1.4x TC combination looks like the ideal combination for birding, but I can’t determine if the 1.4x TC is compatible with the D5000.

    Thanks for providing such a great resource.

    Chuck

    • November 29, 2011 at 12:50 am

      Chuck, TCs are compatible with all cameras. You have to make sure that the lens is compatible and that it has a built-in AF-S motor.

      • 62
        ) Chuck R
        November 29, 2011 at 5:32 am

        Nasim, thanks for the reply. One more quickie, what do you think of B&H’s grey market lenses?

        • November 29, 2011 at 11:10 am

          Chuck, they are as good as the US versions, except they have no warranty. If you buy one of those, NikonUSA might refuse to service the lens.

          • 101
            ) Peter G
            January 1, 2013 at 2:40 pm

            Nasim

            Perhaps you should reply with the answer ” They are the same as the US versions , except they have no warranty” . After all, they all come from Japan.

            I must admit, I dont know if Nikon is manufacturing lenses in Thailand. I did go past Nikons factory in Thailand a few years ago BTW.

  31. 64
    ) Jorge Balarin
    November 30, 2011 at 10:14 am

    Dear Nasim

    Thank you very much for your kind answer and sorry, I didn’t want to generate a Nikon 300mm f/4 question’s tsunami.
    I red your review and I understand that if I change the 300mm lens while using a teleconverter I would have not a problem with dust going inside of the lens. Is it that statement true ?
    Do you advice me to buy the 300mm f/4 now, or do you think an update with VR in coming soon ?
    Please, could you send me the link where you explain the “shutter speed >=focal length (x 1.5) rule”.
    Once again, thank you very much. Your page is my favorite. Best regards, Jorge Balarin.

  32. 66
    ) mustafa
    December 25, 2011 at 4:18 am

    Dear, Nasim,

    Your web site is great resource, I find it very usefull. Thank you again..

    I am planning to get 300 F/4 as a tele, and I plan to use it for both outdoors\wildlife and portrait.

    Currently, I have 35 f/2 and 85 f/1.8. I love both of them.
    I would need a further advice on a tele-zoom. I used to have the most basic 70-300, it was, OK. But sold it.

    I’m looking for zoom-tele, to supplement both 85mm and 300mm. Maybe 80-200 or 70-300 vr? I cannot afford 70-200.
    What would you recommend?

    Mustafa

  33. 67
    ) Noam
    December 26, 2011 at 1:50 am

    Dear Nasim,

    I am using D700, but the result are disappoiting. no sharp.
    Can I send you my camera+lens for check and review ? ( international shipping )
    if not, do you know where the best lab for nikon, what address ?

    thanks
    Noam

  34. 68
    ) Robin
    January 3, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    Nasim,

    I have a quick question. I love birding and I have the 70-300 and find that I can only get good sharp pics @f/8, which limits my opportunities to sunny days. Hence I am thinking of getting the 300 f/4 but am wondering how sharp is it @f/4 or does one need to stop it down a bit to get really sharp photos? I want to make sure that if I get it I can use it in less light and still get good bird photos.

    thanks in advance

    Robin

  35. 69
    ) Jim
    January 4, 2012 at 8:09 am

    Nasim,
    I am moving from D7000 to D700. I own the 105 f2.8D and 70-200 VRI which are great for DX – not so good on FX. Would you recommend replacing these two lenses with the 200 f4 micro? I also have the 24-120 f4 and 300 f4 to round out the kit. The 200 would seem to fit nicely.

  36. January 11, 2012 at 9:14 am

    Hello Nasim,

    Having read your review and going through this thread completely and after looking at your pictures – i can see why people fave the 300mm f/4. I am new to DSLR photography and my first DSLR is a D7K I purchased a couple of months back. I picked up a 70-300 VR along with it and am pretty pleased with the results I get – not for birding though. As recently as a week back I saw a friend of mine use a 300mm f/4 with his D7K along with a 1.4x TC. Took a couple of shots with it and just fell in love with it. I am considering an upgrade to this lens in the near future.

    Over a period of time, I may be a serious birder myself and my question is this – Will this suffice the needs of a moderate to serious birder. I really cannot afford the 500mm or 600mm that Nikon sells.

    • 88
      ) Shyam Sundar
      August 8, 2012 at 2:51 am

      I bought my 300 f/4 sometime after this post and have been shooting with it for a while. Overall extremely pleased with this lens. Coupled with a 1.4x TC it still delivers excellent sharpness, though AF is a tad slow.

      Readers may check my photos with this lens at http://www.facebook.com/NijgalPhotography

      Let me know your thoughts too

  37. 71
    ) Raj
    January 23, 2012 at 5:22 pm

    Hi Nasim,
    I have Nikon D7000, I am looking forward to buy 300mm F/4 but just want to research how this lens will work on DX format….Could you please reply….

    Thanks,
    Raj

  38. 73
    ) Agung
    February 15, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    Hi, Nasim.

    Appreciate for the good review. Is this glass suitable for sport especially indoor swimming with not to bright lighting. Or you have any better solution. Thx.

    regards
    Agung

  39. 74
    ) weera9
    February 16, 2012 at 2:58 am

    Hi Nasim..
    I am not sure to buy either 300mm F/4 or Sigma 50-500mm f/4.5-6.3 APO DG OS HSM Telephoto Zoom Lens. I really need your advice because I did not find any comparing review with this two lenses..
    I hope you can help me to solve my problem…
    Tq

  40. 75
    ) Prashant
    February 25, 2012 at 7:06 am

    How much handheld photography is possible with this lens.

  41. 76
    ) Adnan Khan
    April 5, 2012 at 10:36 pm

    Great review Nasim and yes it’s a fantastic lens !

    Just a note on macro ,though I use 105 and 200 Prime Micros for macro work but buy mounting a Kenko 25mm extension tube on this 300 it nearly halves the distance and one can fill the frame on DX for flower shooting.
    The other off prime macro setup I tried was with a 70-300 + 25mm Kenko+ an add on Raynox DCR250 lens which really closed in like a macro lens.
    The Kenko tube auto focuses on both lenses.
    The add on Raynox is made in Japan and is pretty good lens and can fit into the filter thread of up to 67mm.

    Not a birding guy ,but I like to shoot if opportunity knocks and a monopod really helps with this lens.

    regards
    Adnan

  42. 77
    ) Harry McLeod
    April 11, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Is there any advantage in using teleconverters when cropping would seem to have the same effect without possible image degradation on the primary lens ?

  43. 78
    ) Will Speak
    June 4, 2012 at 9:01 am

    Hi Nasim, great website.
    I read your review and have recently bought a AFS300 F4 with a tc14e to use with a D300. I had to set +4 on the af fine tune to bring it to peak perfomance and have been enjoying a keeper rate far in excess of the appaulingly unreliable Sigma 120-300 F2.8 OS it replaced.
    Every thing you say about this lens it true. It’s very sharp wide open even with the TC and will (with or without the TC) track fast moving Curlews as they climb and swoop even in marginal light. I now understand why Nikon don’t bother to produce an AF 400 F5.6!
    In fact the only bad thing I have to say about this lens concerns the flexable tripod foot and agree with you that if you intend using it on a tripod it’s worth getting the replacement part from RRS or Kirk. On the other hand you could do what I (and a number of other people have done) and wedge a sutable item inbetween the bottom of the lens and the top of the foot, works a treat and costs a lot less.

  44. June 9, 2012 at 4:33 pm

    Hi Nasim Thanks so much for your website and your very useful information about this lens.
    I have two questions.
    Is this lens fully compatible with the Nikon D5000?
    Will the 1.4 teleconverter work with this lens on that camera?
    I am currently using the 70mm X 300 mm vr lens with great success but the images from this prime lens are simply amazing.
    All the best Rodney

  45. 80
    ) Erik
    June 14, 2012 at 10:39 am

    I use this lens for most of my macro shots (during the day), sometimes with a PN-11 to get a bit closer with small insects but when I’m shooting dragonflies, the 300mm works perfect as it is. See my website for examples.

    Of course it’s also a great lens for birds and animals. So it’s very versatile and a great lens! I can recommend it.

  46. 81
    ) hjhibma
    July 2, 2012 at 2:00 pm

    I also have this lens. Love it!
    Great lens for a great price!

    Thanx for sharing all your experencies.
    Love your blog.

  47. 82
    ) Nitin
    July 7, 2012 at 10:54 pm

    I have heard is Nikon coming out with a VR version of Nikon 300mm f/4.0 AF-S lens is it true, if yes when it is expected in market

  48. 83
    ) Abhishek
    July 23, 2012 at 6:04 am

    hie.. Is this lens compatible with nikon d5100.??? I am little confused between nikon 70-300 mm VR , tamron 70-300 VC and Nikon 300mm f/4.0 IF-ED AF-S. Please help me out.

    • 91
      ) Vin
      September 11, 2012 at 4:47 am

      Abhishek,

      Nikon 300mm f/4.0 IF-ED AF-S will autofocus on D5100. I recently purchased this lens, Along with D5100 this will produces some crisp images. For Birding better to add 1.4TC you will get 420mm with maintaining autofocus without loosing much clarity.

  49. 84
    ) Seth
    July 26, 2012 at 8:16 am

    Thank you for your review
    In your opinion, is the 300mm f/4 ED-IF AF too slow, in general, than the AF-S?
    I say in general, because if the bird is not moving much, or just jumping in place, I probably don’t need too much AF speed.

    On the other hand, does anyone has the experince of object focus tracking with the AF lens?
    I am trying to decide between an AF at $370, and an AF-S at three times as much.

    Thank you for the advice

  50. 85
    ) Bhavin
    July 27, 2012 at 3:05 am

    Hi Nasim,
    I have D90 with 18-105 lens. I want to expand my lens kit to shoot wildlife and birds. I am confused –
    1. If I buy 300 f4, will it be too much for taking say wildlife habitat shots?
    2. If I buy 80-200 f2.8D, I do not have the reach for birds.
    What is your suggestion?

    Thanks.

  51. 86
    ) Martin
    July 31, 2012 at 11:34 pm

    Hello Nasim, did you already test the 300 f/4 with the nikon d800? Would appreciate a lot. Do you know whether there is soon a vr version ? Yours

  52. August 4, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    I see on Nikonrumors today that a patent has been filed for the 300 f4 upgrade with both VR and a DO element. (Sounds like it could be a lot more expensive).
    Nasim, what do you think about the addition of the Diffractive Optical element to this lens?

  53. 89
    ) Hamid
    August 25, 2012 at 3:45 am

    hello Mr nasim. Kindly tell me the solution if my nikon 300mm f4 is not focusing properly with 1.4x teleconverter. Some images are soft and some images are out of focus. Without teleconverter lens performs well. Thanks
    Regards
    Hamid

  54. 92
    ) Sudipta
    September 11, 2012 at 11:44 am

    Can I use the Nikon 300mm f/4 AF-S with TC 1.7 on D800?

  55. 93
    ) Srinivas Rao Chavan
    November 12, 2012 at 7:40 am

    I have limited knowledge on photography, i am more interested in wild like photography and sports photography, rather than indoor photography, i am more interested to take photographs of my subject in dark and poor light than in normal conditions, please suggest a nikon make camera with power full lens to make my dreams come true.

    • 96
      ) Pierre
      December 5, 2012 at 11:13 am

      Srinivas, avoid older bodies and high-density sensors like the D3200’s. But the main point is the lens: use fast primes like the 35mm f/1.8, 50mm f/1.8 and 85mm f/1.8. They work great in poor light.

  56. 94
    ) Sermet
    November 23, 2012 at 4:32 pm

    Hello Nasim, I read your Nikon 300/f4 review. (Ok a couple of hears since your actual review). I am considering purchasing this lens, however reading your comments I agree VR could be an advantage. Are you aware if Nikon plans to to come up with an upgrade of this lens or is the F 2.8 the current standard? In addition I have been looking at the Sigma 300mm/f2.8 but have heard the Nikon is superior. By the way my camera is the D7000.

    Hope you can shed some light. Thanks, Sermet

  57. 95
    ) Sonny
    November 26, 2012 at 3:12 pm

    Nasim,

    Thank you for your review!

    I want to start out by saying I am looking for a lens in the category of 300-400mm of reach to shoot Formula 1 cars (European racing series which now has a presence in America). I went there this year with a Nikon D5100 and Nikkor 18-300mm f/5.6 (@300mm) and left with a hunger to combine two passionate hobbies: following the sport and photography! I am very new to photography: but plan to see and photograph Formula 1 cars on a yearly basis. If you aren’t familiar with the sport – the best way to photograph the cars is by “panning” the camera as you follow the cars with slower shutter speeds (1/50 – 1/125 sec) to have the driver/car be sharp and the surrounding area show motion blur. I was struggling to get clear photos with my current equipment at shutter speeds less than 1/200th of a second. and I know some of this is technique that needs improved.

    But because of my passion for both hobbies: I was looking to upgrade the lens first. And possibly the camera (patiently awaiting to see if Nikon releases a D400..). Most professional photographers recommend shutting off VR when “panning” your camera with slower shutter speeds, as I read that having VR on in this scenario can actually blur your focus point. I’m not sure if you can comment on this. But I am very tempted to buy this lens solely to shoot Formula 1 cars, and other wildlife (deer/birds). I don’t plan on spending more than $2,000: so the 300mm f/4 with a TC (possibly 1.4x) seems like a great investment.

    Could you please share any information? Would you recommend other lens?

  58. 97
    ) John
    December 16, 2012 at 2:27 pm

    Great review! I use the nikon d5100, my longest lens is sigma 70-200mm which is not enough for wildlife and birds. I am an amatuer photographer, but very passionate about my hobby. As this review is fairly old is there any better alternatives than the nikon 300mm f4 lens today that beats the 300mm + 1.4 tc combo?

    With the crop factor of DX + TC this lens gives a reach of 600mm which is very impressive for the money. The 200-400mm Nikon cost a LOT more, and is too expensive for me at this point as I am not a professional. I do a lot of hiking in the mountains and weight is also important. From what I have read the 300mm f4 has the about the same wegith to it as the 70-200 F2.8.

  59. 98
    ) Parag
    December 21, 2012 at 10:31 pm

    Dear Sir,
    I have a Nikon D5000 and sigma 70 – 300 and interested in bird photogrphy.Wanted to know if the Nikon 300mm F4 AF-S along with 1.4 TC be compatible with my camera body (in terms of auto focus).

    Regards

    Parag

    • 99
      ) Mark
      December 22, 2012 at 5:31 pm

      Yes. Your D5000 will work with 300mm F4 AF-S with 1.4 TC with full AutoFocus. You will notice an incredible improvement with this combination over your Sigma 70-300mm.

      Consider a Kenko 1.4TC also as they are excellent

      Mark

  60. 100
    ) Phil
    December 24, 2012 at 6:40 pm

    Hi , I recently sold a Mint ++ Nikkor 500 mirror & even with the MF ,f8, & the tiny dof ,I slightly regretted it after replacing it with a Sigma 400 /f5.6- bit diappointed due to strange AF & EEr readings on my D80 & D300.
    Now I’m looking at the slightly older nikkor 300/f4 ED (can’t $tretch to the AF-S model ) but have been distracted by the now discontinued Sigma 300mm D APO /f4 prime, which is getting fair to quite good reviews . Price & not least weight being of consideration between the 2 …. seems $550-600 will land me a good used nikon ,while $375 ish would get the Sigma 300………..A Also a little concerned over ‘Err’ on sigma matching the bodies :-/
    Which way would you go ,if thats not a daft Q?
    I would use mostly for tight portraits / candid shots, & some sport work…. thanks

  61. 102
    ) Jeff
    January 12, 2013 at 7:25 am

    Got my 300mm, yesterday. I can only get it to function when locked at f32. Otherwise, I get an f ee message. Does anyone know what my problem is? I guess it is in the camera setting.

    • 103
      ) Phil
      January 12, 2013 at 9:36 am

      Hi Jeff, is that the 300 sigma ,or a 300 Nikon ? .. My sigma 400 works some times & then doesn’t . Switch off & on again usually fixes it , (which is useless) -is there such a thing as a female lens ? anyway – no idea why this don’t work 100% of the time .. the tele macros are supposed to be ok , but yours halts that theory! let me know if theres a ‘fix’ .. also hear that the focus adjustment (never had this on film cameras !!) is +20 on the sigma 400, & oddly – 20 on a nikkor 28-70 f2,8 which is a top dollar lens ??? good luck !

    • 104
      ) Pierre
      January 12, 2013 at 4:13 pm

      Jeff, I am not sure I understand your question. You keep the aperture ring locked on f/32 because nowadays you change the aperture with the camera front control wheel, not with the lens’ aperture ring.

      • 105
        ) Jeff
        January 13, 2013 at 9:13 am

        Thanks! Appreciate the assist.

        • 106
          ) Pierre
          January 14, 2013 at 1:59 pm

          My pleasure. Actually I think that the FEE message just means that the camera wants aperture changes to be made with the control wheel on the camera.

          • 130
            ) Peter Geran
            March 21, 2013 at 9:12 am

            Pierre….

            The FEE message means that you have not got the aperture ring locked down to either f22 or f32 ( what ever is minimum on the lens).

            I use D3S, D3 and D2Xs bodies BTW…..

            From recollection, if you are using Program mode, then the lens should be stopped down to minimum.

            • 131
              ) Pierre
              March 21, 2013 at 12:45 pm

              Thank you for the clarification, Peter.

              Actually, that is what I was trying to say in my first post (# 104)—but I think I need to brush up my English ;-)

            • 132
              ) Peter Geran
              March 21, 2013 at 3:42 pm

              Pierre,
              No problem. Only too pleased to assist…. I’m Australian, so, English is my second language as well .

  62. January 17, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    Hi I am going to Costa Rica to shoot wildlife/birds and am considering either renting a Nikon 300 F4.0 or a Nikon 300 2.8 (both the newest editions) to go on my D800. I am new to nature photography and don’t have alot of experience shooting moving birds. I have been told that we won’t be doing a lot of hiking but I’m still nervous about the weight of the 300 2.8 (even just transporting it. I will have access to both the 1.4 and 2.0 teleconverters. I am just wondering if I will notice a huge difference in quality, focussing etc. between the combinations.

    Thanks,
    Marsha

    • 108
      ) Peter G
      January 17, 2013 at 9:09 pm

      The 300mm f2.8 weights between 2.6 to 3 kilograms ( depends on the version. ). I have all Nikon TCs ..TC14E, TC17e and TC20e.

      Unfortunately, my version of the Nikon TC20E isnt very good. Apparently, the new model is good, but, I am not donating any more $$ to Nikon on TC’s.
      TC14E is good on a 300mm f2.8 ( 420mm @f4 )

      take a mono-pod with you as well.

      • January 20, 2013 at 7:57 am

        Thanks Peter. I made the decision to rent the f2.8 300mm in spite of the weight. I will have the latest 2X TC plus access to the 1.4 and 1.7.

        Marsha

    • 114
      ) Martin
      January 20, 2013 at 3:51 am

      Why don’t you rent the 200-400 of Nikon?

      • January 20, 2013 at 7:58 am

        The 200-400 would be better but it is also heavier. I will have access to its use though as the photographer leading the trip has one and will lend it to me to try out.

  63. 109
    ) Phil
    January 19, 2013 at 6:39 pm

    Pierre, think you’re right on the fEE info think I’ve solved that now… but sort of lost it with the Sigma, so a new home for that & looking at -either a 300nikon f4 (&a 1.4 TC ) or a 80-200 f2.8- D
    (2 ring version ) & a x2TC ?? which would give me 400@about f5.6, also found a well written about 100-300f4 EX .pro level sigma head in a whirl.. 300+TC which as you say is =420 ish @f5.6
    just which £$£$£ is the more flexible/ best deal………..Ummm !

    • 110
      ) Peter G
      January 19, 2013 at 6:54 pm

      If you add a TC14E, you lose one (1) stop. TC20E is two (2) stops.

      I dont think the latest TCs will worth with Nikon 80-200 f2.8, but not 100 % certain though. You would have to check which model 80-200 f2.8 lens.

      That Fee message normally means you should have the lens stopped down to f22 ( what ever is minimum )

    • 111
      ) Pierre
      January 20, 2013 at 2:33 am

      Phil, I think Nassim said it all in his first paragraph: if you don’t want to spend a lot of money, the only (Nikon) solution for wildlife is this 300mm f/4 + TC14. They are devised to work well together and they deliver a very good image quality. You also get a quick focus system, which is very important for wildlife.

      The 80-200 seems a little bit out of line. As Peter said, you loose a lot of light with a TC20, which means the focus may be harder to get, and then the image quality may be so-so.

      The Sigma 100-300 + TC solution is a good idea but there is one thing I don’t like with any non-Nikon solution: it’s the risk of incompatibility problems with your next camera (the one you’ll buy in a few years). Another problem is the price: with non-Nikon lenses, you usually loose a lot of money when you resell them.

      Speaking of usability, the only way to know which combo suits you best is to borrow or rent them and try them in the field.

    • 112
      ) Pierre
      January 20, 2013 at 2:53 am

      PS: sorry, my previous post may look like an ad for Nikon, but it was not my intention. Anyway, I would make the same remarks about Canon and non-Canon lenses.

      • 113
        ) Phil
        January 20, 2013 at 3:22 am

        Ha ha .. understand , Still leaning to wards theNikon f4 300+a TC (pity the wallet won’t stretch to an AF-s one ), but the older AF-D is catching up, even used seen a couple on the ‘e-auctions’ around £375-425, but some @ £5-600 ! – not sure if I can mention ebay on here :-) cheers

  64. 117
    ) Phil
    January 21, 2013 at 5:36 pm

    Yipppeee . ! – found an absol. mint++ nikkor f4/300mm AF ED for sensible money , virtually unused & new in the box, & there are some wrecks out there I wouldn’t use for target practice.
    If its done 10 rolls of film its been busy ! One of those ” it was my old Dads’ wardrobe”
    The hunt goes on for a x TC , probably a x1.4 ??
    thanks for all the threads……watch this space for update ~Phil

    • 118
      ) Pierre
      January 22, 2013 at 7:44 am

      Congratulations ! Looking forward to seeing pictures. Nessie would be quite an event. Cheers

    • 121
      ) Pierre
      January 26, 2013 at 8:01 am

      Phil, I forgot an important thing : as far as I know, the Nikon teleconverters do not work with the 300mm f/4 AF-D. Third parties’ teleconverters may do it nicely though. I would stick to 1.4. If you need more magnification, cropping will probably make less damage to the picture quality than 2.0 or 3.0 models.

      • 122
        ) Phil
        January 26, 2013 at 8:36 am

        Appreciate that Pierre, nikon would be nice , but so would an Aston Martin !!
        so been looking at Kenko, the 300pro looks a deal …or a sigma ex ?? seen the odd tamron , but unsure on AF /compatibilty with those…
        & yes 1.4x is probably all I need .. better to have the light in the lens & crop later as you say !
        thanks -Phil

        • 128
          ) Phil
          March 10, 2013 at 6:40 pm

          Hello again one & all … been laid up for a few weeks ,-injured back , but to solvle the boredom did some ebay trawlling & found a dirt cheap …1.4x telecon. for the nikkor 300/f4 (a Tamron ) &fully AF compatable ,happy days..
          so spent the rest of the dosh (& a chunk more !) on an absolute beaut’ of an F4s, just so nice to own such a piece of fantastic engineering-bet it hasn’t done 30 rolls of film….. probably have to sell my FE2 now to replace the ££ in the bank & when better can shoot some film. makes a great noise !! :-)

  65. 119
    ) Phil
    January 22, 2013 at 8:06 am

    Nessie would be my pension !! ha ha ..
    It’ll be a little while as its in the USA & I have to catch up with it in a few weeks- :-(
    back there soon

  66. 120
    ) Mr.Ridvan ERTUG
    January 22, 2013 at 8:55 am

    Hi Nasim,

    First at all thank you for your kind reviews. After I read your review I sold my Nikon 80-400mm lens and replace it with your ideal combination for birding ( Nikon 300mm f/4.0 + 1.4x TC ) I am very happy with the results.

    Just wanted to say thank you.

    All the best

    Ridvan

  67. January 31, 2013 at 2:38 pm

    The link above is the patent Nikon has files in Japan concerning the new Nikon 300mm f.4 with VR.
    According to the link the new lens will be shorter than the current model & similar to Canon lenses.
    I have no idea how valid this information is or if & when they will mfg. & market the new replacement model.

    • 127
      ) Phil
      March 10, 2013 at 6:29 pm

      Dreading the price tag !! :-/
      Think I’ll have to stick with the 300mm /f4 AF-D until I can ‘give up the day job’

  68. 125
    ) Sherman L Barr
    March 10, 2013 at 5:57 pm

    Hi Nasim,

    I now have the Nikon 300mm F/4 + the 1.4x TC and I love it. I have a question. What is the sharpess
    aperture setting for this combination?

    Thanks

    • 126
      ) weera9
      March 10, 2013 at 6:11 pm

      Aperture Priority|F8

  69. 129
    ) Vikas.B.Chavan
    March 21, 2013 at 8:39 am

    Nasim,
    I am thinking of buying a 300mm F4 + 1.4X TC for my D3100. I would like to know whether the lens mount of my camera safely bear the weight of the lens & teleconvertor combination ?

  70. 133
    ) Mike Hinshaw
    April 22, 2013 at 2:02 am

    Hello Nasim,
    Thanks very much for your very informative website. I’ve sold my Nikon gear for M43 & now realize to
    shoot wildlife I had better pick up a D7100 & 300mm f4. I’ll buy the D7100 new..what are the odds of not
    getting “hurt” buying a used 300 f4? With my luck buying used I’d end up with one that was clean/like
    new & until I received it! I hate to pay retail knowing that there will be an VR update sometime in the
    future. Bottom line, though, I don’t want to be foolish. Buy new?

    Thanks!!

    • 136
      ) Phil
      May 9, 2013 at 11:25 pm

      Hi Mike ,see my note below #135 I think, but look & look & look and you will find the right one , ebay can throw up a gem every now & then. If you’re looking for a non AF-S then prices seem to be £375 -450 AF-s are twice that.& ones in Germay for some reason are mega bucks??
      I only ever consider ones on ebay that have plenty of quality photos. You can’t buy a lens for £3-500 off someone trying to sell top Qual. photo items if the pics are cac ! . You get the feel of the quality of the seller if you look & look . My 300/f4 AF ED took 5or6 serious attempts to get the right one, a real minter with all the bits ,box case filter soft cap @ £428…. avoid ones without , which are either a trade-in, or not as well looked after as you might want- good luck.

    • 138
      ) Phil
      May 9, 2013 at 11:58 pm

      Hi again Mike, as I understand it, the D7100 has the same/similar issue to the D300 v. 300s …
      I have a D300 & NOT the 300s , I also a D7000 & its fab, the extra cost to a 7100 is a bit overkill, think the extra money is mostly in the video capabilty over the 7000 – ?
      enjoy whichever you choose, as ever though the quality has to be in the glass!

  71. 134
    ) Daniel
    May 7, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    Would like some advise, for birding would you choose:
    Nikon 300mm F4 + telconverter 1.4
    Or
    The new Nikon 80-400 F4.5-5.6G

    I use a D90 camera (for now)
    I know the price difference is big, but I’m thinking the new 80-400 will keep it’s value longer than the 300mm which is long due a VR version.

    • 135
      ) Phil
      May 9, 2013 at 11:12 pm

      I have a Nikon D300 with a 300mm F4 prime + vivitar (for now)TC x1.4 seems to work fine ,v. little light loss on the TC,only a little extra weight as only about 25mm long = minimum shake, & the very start of the birder article states that the 80/400 zoom was a bit on the heavy side . Not that the 300mm is a lightweight ! I’m well pleased with mine though , prices range from £375 ish – 550 ?? German based sales on ebay seem to be priced in gold bullion bars ! but if you can find a good one, the 300 prime is exc. & stands heavy cropping without too much IQ loss . v. the zoom which is probably a bit heavier, & v. v. slightly inferior on stops.? good luck

  72. 137
    ) Phil
    May 9, 2013 at 11:50 pm

    whilst bashing the keyboards , just an up date on kit, given a few recent threads …
    Got some proper gear now! The nikkor 300mm/f4 AF ED -it’s fab, real quality &worth the wait to get on my hols & pick it up from my pals address in the USA. A good bit heavier than I expected, but will get used to the balance.
    3-4 weeks ago, I also acquired a mint+ 80-200 /f2.8 just before I flew to USA …. so up for sale now is a wonderful nikon 70-210 AF-D, this much lighter/shorter ‘D’ version really has super-fast AF & still not sure I can justify the extra £300-350 for a couple of stops I get ?? argh!
    THOUGHTS ANYONE…?
    This being off-sick thing is not good if you like nice stuff & have time to kill with ebay access!
    A classic F4sSLR body (what a lovely noise that makes!) -a 300/f4 AF D,an 80/200 f2.8,& a D7000 body ! – Ca- Ching £££££££ :- / for everything else theres master card…..happy days .

  73. May 17, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    Hey Nasim,

    I just wanted to check in and see what you would say about this lens now that it’s been a few years.

    Do you still feel this to be one of the best lenses for birding? I am eyeing a used one for $1,150 and weighing the decision vs. a 70-300 VR for $600, or saving money for a 70-200 2.8 VR at around $2,400.

    Thanks for your in-depth review.

    • July 16, 2013 at 1:24 am

      Chris, I finally had a chance to update this lens review – please take a look now, with some thoughts from today. I apologize for a late response!

  74. 140
    ) Dan Logan
    June 3, 2013 at 11:05 am

    I bought the 300/f4 and TC1.4 a year ago after having truly abysmal results with the first gen 70-200/TC1.7 combo. Now use the 300/1.4 on the D4 and D700 for handheld bird photography and am very pleased with the results.

    One question: What’s your opinion about the weather-resistance capability of the 300/f4?

    • 143
      ) Phil
      June 22, 2013 at 4:46 pm

      Hi , I have that combo’ & the weather resistance (not weather proof) capabilities of the D300 are reported to be very good, no experience of weather resistance on the lens, although its an ‘older’ metal ~ Made in Japan lens , so you would expect it to be as good as it gets .~I also have a 1.4xTC & results are great f4 not a problem , just got myself a long awaited nikkor 80-200f2.8 (to compare would be not a fair contest really….& a point worth noting, a TC is not produced by Nikon to go with the f2.8 ) but in lower light especially is just tac sharp…..good luck.

  75. 141
    ) Daniel
    June 7, 2013 at 4:44 am

    After waiting so long for a 300F4 with VR, I caved in and bought the new Nikon 80-400 4.5-5.6G.

    I can’t really compare to the 300 F4, but it is a great lens. Had some great results in Scotland past 2 weeks.

    Only issue till now is In flight (fast movement) but I suspect that is down to my (till) limited skills rather than the lens.

    The VR and AF are great, and I did not fancy the 300F4 not having rubber seal on the mount side. Can also mention that having the additional zoom range helps, especially in zooming in to objects (bird in a bush).

    Buy the way the size is also very acceptable for traveling, although at first I was quit surprised how big it is, I found it comfortable enough to carry around. With the right shoulder strap which cost another €80.

    However the price of the 80-400 is ridicules for any amateur and if money is not an issue than just buy a 600mm or 800mm LOL

  76. June 22, 2013 at 4:09 pm

    Hey Nassim,
    A friend of mine is selling me his Nikon 80-400mm F/4.5-5.6d which I am still considering to buy. But it seems like the Nikon 300mm f/4.0 is a better lense for wildlife photography. I have a Nikon teleconverter 2x. Do you think is worth trying the nikon 300 f/4.0 with my teleconverter. How about if use the Nikon 80-400mm F/4.5-5.6d with the 2x teleconverter? I am starting the birding photography and general wildlife as well. Thanks!!!

  77. 144
    ) Pipo
    July 15, 2013 at 6:31 pm

    Hi Nasim, i have read your reviews and i dont know anything about lenses and cameras but i enjoyed the photos you shared and i was thinking of practicing also. Do you know what lens is best for a Nikon D5100? Your suggestion will be very helpful. thank you.

    • July 15, 2013 at 7:28 pm

      Pipo, please take a look at my lens reviews. There is no such thing as the best single lens – it all depends on your needs.

      • 172
        ) Pipo
        July 17, 2013 at 9:38 pm

        Thanks and yes ive read your lens reviews just wondering if all those are compatible with D5100. thanks again.

  78. 147
    ) Grant John
    July 15, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    Hi Nasim

    I just returned from Botswana, where I used the 300 mm lens extensively, sometimes with a 1.4 teleconverter. The AF on the lens failed the second day, so I manually focused the combo and got a lot of great shots. So I like the combination. But I have a problem. I had the AF on the lens repaired at an authorized shop after I returned. But the AF does not work with the Nikon 1.4x TC and either a D7000 or a D600 camera. The repair shop checked out the TC before I went. Can you recommend a place I can send the lens and the TC to to try to resolve this problem? Or do you have ant other suggestions? Thanks.
    Grant

    • July 15, 2013 at 8:18 pm

      That’s strange – have not seen AF fail on a Nikkor lens yet. You probably had a bad sample to start with :(

      What does the repair shop say? Do they say that AF is fully working? Perhaps it is your camera? Did you try to clean the lens contacts?

      • 151
        ) Grant John
        July 15, 2013 at 8:34 pm

        Repair shop says
        1. On the TC, works fine with their 300mm lens on a D300
        2. On the lens, they replaced the silent wave motor and repaired the AF? $550.
        Lens AF works on my cameras now. Does not work with TC. The lens is fairly old but the AF works – now. Have written to Nikon but not optimistic. Are you familiar with the authorized repair shop in Morton Grove, IL? Thinking about sending both the lens and the TC to them.

        • July 15, 2013 at 9:50 pm

          Grant, if you just bought the lens, why did you pay $550 for SWM replacement? Should not it be covered by warranty? Also, did you try your TC with any other lens / camera?

          I have been sending my gear to El Segundo and those folks have been great. Give them a call and see if you can get it serviced there instead…

          • 160
            ) Grant John
            July 16, 2013 at 10:38 am

            Nasim

            The lens is not new. I bought it through EBay about 7-8 years ago, but did not use it much as I shortly thereafter bought a be 80-400 that I never really liked that much. Before going to Africa I did a lot of reading and decided to keep the 300mm. So I bought the TC. The AF did not work with the TC so I had the TC checked. The AF never worked with the TC on the lens, but the lens AF did work until we got to Africa.
            I have tried the combination with three cameras including a D7000, a D600 and a D300s. None work on AF. So I think I need to send the lens with the TC to a good repair shop. Is El Segundo named that, or just located there?
            Thanks, Grant

            • July 16, 2013 at 3:01 pm

              Grant, I would send both the lens and the TC for repair then. El Segundo is the name of the town in CA. Here are some details: http://www.nikonusa.com/fileuploads/westernservice/moving.html

              Make sure to call Nikon service before sending the package though. I do not know if the above address is the most current one or if they accept packages to this particular address.

  79. 148
    ) Bruce
    July 15, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    Thank you Nasim for a superb site, which has quickly become my favourite for Nikon reviews and technical background information.

    I am an amateur photographer and desperately want an affordable way to reach 600mm at f/8 for photographing the beautiful birds here in Australia. At the moment I have an old 300mm f/4 IF-ED with a 2x Tamron SP AF teleconverter. I use this with D80 (although I’ve recently bought a D600 with 70-200 f/4 for my daughter’s figure skating, but that’s another – happy – story). The D80/300mm/2xTC is OK, but not super sharp. Autofocus works sometimes, but I often switch to manual.

    I would upgrade to the AF-S 300 f/4D with TC-2E III at a drop of a hat if it was sharp, but from your reviews I realise it would be little better than the combination I currently have.

    I tried to point out the frustrations amateur bird photographers have on a Nikon “Tips for Photographing Birds” site (http://www.nikonusa.com/en/Learn-And-Explore/Article/gg1e58ss/tips-for-photographing-birds.html), but they rejected my comment as not meeting their guidelines (http://reviews.nikonusa.com/content/7022le-en_us/guidelines.htm). Most of their example photographs are done with a 600mm f/4!

    Nikon don’t seem to care about the budget bird photography market. Canon have the market sewn up with their EF 400mm f/5.6L, which seems to work well with a 1.4x teleconverter.

    Sigh!

    • July 15, 2013 at 8:16 pm

      Bruce, you would not benefit from switching your lens to the AF-S version, since it does not work well with any 2x TC. Instead of trying that much magnification, why don’t you switch to the TC-14E II instead? You will get fully working AF and you can crop images in post, if needed. I think you will get much better results that way…

      As for Nikon not caring for the budget bird photography market, I agree – we desperately need longer budget lenses. A 400mm f/5.6 would be wonderful, but if Nikon strips away VR, then I would rather have the 300mm f/4G VR instead :)

  80. 152
    ) Braden
    July 15, 2013 at 8:34 pm

    Hi Nasim,

    Great update on your previous review. I actually used it to help make my decision to buy a used 300/f4 AF-D. Been very happy with it and its performance on the D7100.

    It will be interesting to see but perhaps Nikon may be finally addressing the issue of a prime 300mm with VR soon http://nikonrumors.com/2013/07/09/new-wave-of-nikon-announcements-coming-in-augustseptember-d400-a-possibility.aspx/ Keep your fingers crossed! Hopefully Nikon doesn’t decide to charge an arm and a leg but I have a feeling they might just by looking at the current pricing of of 80-400 AF-S. Time will tell!

    • July 15, 2013 at 9:49 pm

      Braden, let’s hope Nikon announces the 300mm f/4G VR with the D400! Can’t wait :)
      I don’t think the 300mm f/4G VR will be priced above $2K.

  81. 153
    ) JohnL
    July 15, 2013 at 8:39 pm

    Errata … 3 (Optical Features) item 5 (Teleconverter Compatibility)
    The lens is 600mm (not 800mm) with the TC-20 converters in the chart. Otherwise, a great review.

    • July 15, 2013 at 9:47 pm

      John, thanks for pointing this out, I fixed it.

  82. 158
    ) Elliott
    July 16, 2013 at 5:57 am

    Terrific review Nasim. I use the Sigma 150-500mm with my D800e. Have you done any comparisons with the Sigma lens? I know many photo enthusiasts who use that lens and would find such review very helpful. Thank you.

    • July 16, 2013 at 2:59 pm

      Elliott, not yet. I tested the 50-500mm in my 80-400mm VR review, but not the 150-500mm. My biggest issue with the Sigma telephotos is lack of consistency in performance…it is always a gamble :( Hopefully, Sigma will start making good telephoto budget primes soon in their new “Sports” category.

  83. 159
    ) Art
    July 16, 2013 at 10:12 am

    Thanks for the great review. I also love to use my 300mm F4 with and without the 1.4 x TC. It has been my go to lens for all sorts of photography from portraits, wildlife, landscape, and macro (with extension tubes) and find it hard to live without.
    I would really like to see Nikon update this lens since mine is starting to show it age after 12 years of hard use (AF is getting noisy). I just hope they keep the build quality (metal barrel) and optics (sharp wide open) the same or better than the present version. The thing Nikon has to improve on is the tripod collar, I really do not know what Nikon is thinking about when they offer a high quality lens and put a cheap flimsy tripod collar on it (I wonder if these guys shoot out of the lab). If they choose not to improve it I wish they would just leave it the same so my superior aftermarket collar will fit. As for VR the new version should have the latest and greatest as Nikon offers on the new 70-200mm F4.
    Let’s hope Nikon is going to update it soon since I am debating now whether to wait for the new version, send the old lens into Nikon for an overhaul, or just buy a new one(since the price point for this lens is a great value).
    Regards
    Art

    • July 16, 2013 at 2:57 pm

      Art, I would recommend to wait until August/September timeframe. If Nikon does not announce it by then, then it would probably be safe to buy the old one again.

  84. 161
    ) Chris Zeller
    July 16, 2013 at 10:59 am

    Thanks Nassim!
    You continue to churn out well-researched and thoughtful reviews and this is no exception! I’d say your reviews are easily the best on the net, not the least because of the stunning results you show with each and every lens.

    Thanks for including the commentary on the 70-200 + TC2.0 to this article. Is there any chance you could post MTF results for the 70-200 + 1.4 vs the 300mm? With 280mm vs 300mm both at f4 this should be a very fair comparison. My hunch is that (much like your comments on the 80-400mm) for a lot of us with the 70-200mm already, it doesn’t make much sense to own the 300mm as well.
    Thanks!

    • 162
      ) Brian C. Copeland
      July 16, 2013 at 11:32 am

      I own both the 70-200mm f2.8 VRII and the 300mm f4. I wondered if perhaps I could sell my 300mm on eBay when I acquired the 70-200. As much as I love my 70-200 and the answer for me was no. The 300mm focuses faster, gives sharper results, and provides more reach (even more than math would indicate – I think due to the 70-200 breathing and perhaps the “real” focal range of each lens). Plus, the 300mm is so darn cheap (relatively). I’m keeping it in my bag and highly recommend it to anyone who does a lot of bird or other wildlife photography.

    • July 16, 2013 at 2:56 pm

      Chris, the 70-200mm f/2.8G VR II just does not compare to the 300mm f/4 for reach – please see Brian’s comment, since I feel exactly the same. I own both and I consider them to be for different needs. I love my 70-200mm for portraits, landscapes and some large wildlife. But not for extensive birding, even when used with TCs. I always prefer my 300mm + TC-14E II to get the maximum reach. If you do a little bit of birding/wildlife, then don’t waste your money and stick to the 70-200mm :)

      I will try to do some MTF data for the 70-200mm + TC-14E II when I test lenses next.

  85. 167
    ) Thailover
    July 16, 2013 at 10:25 pm

    Nikon has recently added the new 16-35mm and 80-400 mm as recommended lenses for the D800. After reading this review it would seem this tested lens would also be included since Nasim was using a D800. Why not?

  86. 168
    ) Andy
    July 17, 2013 at 4:29 am

    Naseem, you are doing a wonderful job for other photographers with this website,which is generous of you and I don’t know how you find the time! The photos are outstanding, the layout is clean and clear and your advice is informed and honest and like many others I thank you for this.
    I would be very grateful if you could advise a sensible sharpening and NR routine in ACR for the Nikon D800 using the 300 f4 lens and 1.4TC. I shoot mostly wildlife and tend to set my auto ISO max to around 800 and crop heavily at times. I have also used the Sigma 150-500 extensively in different mounts and since moving to D800 have found with focus calibration for around 10 metres, (hefty amounts needed!), good results can be obtained for smaller subjects at 500mm, but consistency for distant subjects is difficult. Best wishes and keep up the excellent work. Andy

  87. 169
    ) Jorge Balarin
    July 17, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Dear Nasim,

    Are you using teleconverters with your 200-400mm ?, and how are they doing ? Greetings.

    • July 17, 2013 at 6:38 pm

      Yes, I use the TC-14E II with the 200-400mm. I don’t like any other teleconverter on the 200-400mm, since it does not couple well with those…

  88. 173
    ) Mike
    July 18, 2013 at 12:28 am

    Hello, and thanks for the review. I shoot with a D800 and have only one tele lens, the older 80-200 f/2.8D. It is sharp, fast, but there are better options on the market. The 300/4 is obviously nice, but the 70-200 and 80-400 both seem a lot more versatile. I’m considering one of those as a replacement, just haven’t made up my mind yet. Pros and cons to both.

    When I strike it rich I’ll buy e exotic 400 and 800 lenses :)

    Mike

  89. July 19, 2013 at 5:11 pm

    Dude, you need to do the math on the TC-17E II and the 300’s :O
    Exif will show it’s 500mm NOT 510. Takes away from an otherwise
    decent review. Oh, in the right hands…the TC-20E III plays quite
    well with the AF-S 300 f4…just sayin’

    • July 20, 2013 at 12:56 am

      You also need to do some math :) 1.7 multiplied by 300 is 510mm, not 500. It does not matter what the camera reports. As for the TC-20E III, I would love to see some sharp results at 100% crop – please do share some samples if you have them.

  90. July 19, 2013 at 5:14 pm

    45 yrs of BIF under MY belt ;)

  91. 177
    ) Pawel
    July 22, 2013 at 1:06 pm

    Thanks for the great review. Polisch: Bardzo dobry artykuł. Po przeczytaniu go, zdecydowałem się na kupno tego obiektywu. Dzięki !!!

  92. 178
    ) Richard
    July 28, 2013 at 2:05 am

    Only just seen this updated post, but my 300mm f4 still rocks and with the x1.4TC on either my D7100 or D800 it produces wonderful shots. It’s pretty darned good on the V1 too! It is rumoured that next month a new VR version will appear, however as a lens for birders, especially those who take at high shutter speeds, this maybe of little value remembering that inappropriate use of VR can actually lead to a poor result.

    Richard

  93. 179
    ) Claus
    August 4, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    As always, a great review. I recently picked up the 300mm f/4 and TC-14E II. As you suggested in your excellent review it would probably be best to leave the teleconverter on the lens. This (obviously) means that the lens no longer fits in the handy bag that comes with the lens.
    What do you use in the field to carry the lens with teleconverter when they are not mounted on your camera?

    Thanks in advance,
    Claus

    • 180
      ) Richard
      August 4, 2013 at 2:36 pm

      Claus. I use a Tamrac 5630 Pro Digital Zoom 10 bag, this will take my DSLR with a 300mm f4 lens and I put the x1.4 TC in the front pocket. In fact with a D7000/D7100 it will fit in with the TC connected, just.

      Richard

    • August 5, 2013 at 3:13 pm

      Claus, I never use the lens pouches that come with Nikkor lenses, unless they go in storage. If I have to store a lens for an extended period of time, that’s when I use the Nikon pouches/bags. Lens goes into a plastic bag, then into a pouch. In the case of the 300mm f/4D, I typically just store it on a shelf in a dust-free, dry area, regular room temp. If I know that I won’t be shooting for a while, I will take the TC off and store it in its case. Otherwise, it is in my regular bag with me all the time and it fits quite well in Think Tank and other bags. Just get a large enough bag that can fit long lenses!

      Hope this helps :)

  94. 183
    ) Sherm Barr
    August 6, 2013 at 11:20 am

    Does anyone know the close focus distance of the 300mm f4 with the Tc14 attached?

    Thanks,

    Sherm

    • 184
      ) Claus
      August 6, 2013 at 11:24 am

      Roughly 4 feet.

  95. 185
    ) Gary
    August 15, 2013 at 8:21 am

    Nasim,

    Wildlife Photography is a new hobby for me. I have recently found your site as a result of seeking reviews on the Nikon 300MM lens. I own a D7000 and Nikon 70-200 2.8 VRII (& 1.7 teleconverter). I shoot wildlife from my kayak in Florida back waters. In addition to the incredible sharpness of your sample photos, I am awestruck by the incredible quality of Bokeh. I struggle with creating such Bokeh, despite understanding shooting wide open reduces DOF and assists in quality Bokeh? Any suggestions would be most welcome.

  96. 186
    ) skartik
    September 13, 2013 at 8:58 am

    Hi Nassim,

    Thanks for the detailed review.

    Have you heard anything or come across any information on the update for the af-s 300 f4, I am planning to get one and don’t know if Nikon will come out with a new version with VR?

    Thanks,

    skartik

    • 187
      ) Richard
      September 13, 2013 at 11:27 am

      A wildlife or sports shooter has little use for VR if the shutter speed is above 1/450 (1.5 x focal length speed equivalent). So to me it is very much an unnecessary expensive extra for shooting birds in flight or high speed sports.

      Richard

      • 188
        ) skartik
        September 13, 2013 at 8:40 pm

        Point noted Richard, Thanks.

      • 189
        ) Peter G
        September 13, 2013 at 8:58 pm

        Richard,

        Why the 1/450 second ( 1.5 s focal length equivalent ) ? Thinking of the DX factor ?
        I do agree that its an unnecessary cost .

        Never worried about VR on my Nikon 300mm f2.8 AF-S , and 500mm f4 AF-I.
        The only lens that I own that has VR is my Nikon 70-200f2.8 AF-S ( MK 1 )

        • 190
          ) Richard
          September 14, 2013 at 3:03 am

          Because when the speed exceeds the equivalent of x1.5 the focal length in a speed equivalent, VR becomes almost redundant . This comes from the film days long ago before optical stabilization. For example a 500mm non optical stabilized lens should be used at a speed of at least 1/750 sec to minimise camera shake. The same applies today.

          Richard

          • 191
            ) Peter G
            September 14, 2013 at 3:46 am

            Richard

            Never worried me when I was shooting with my Nikon 300mm f2.8 and Nikon 500mm f4 lens hand-held..I shot action, and never used those speeds…All with KR64 as well. Only used a monopod with my Nikon 800mm f5.6

            BTW…I have D3S, 3 andD2Xs bodies… No D4 yet .

            • 192
              ) Richard
              September 14, 2013 at 3:57 am

              Don’ get me wrong I know the benefits of VR in low light and erratic moving situations. I do believe however that VR is often misused and certainly misunderstood in its benefits. As I shoot static or low light photography either from a monopod or tripod, the announcement of a new 300mm f4 VR wouldn’t set my pulse racing.

              Richard

  97. 193
    ) Vikas.B.Chavan
    October 27, 2013 at 12:38 am

    Dear Nasim,
    I just wanted to know if you have tested the AF-S Nikkor 300mm/f4 + NikonTC-17E II combination with the new Nikon DSLRs having AF capabilities up to f8. If so, what is your conclusion regarding the combination’s IQ and AF performance? I am eagerly awaiting your reply on this.
    Regards.

    Vikas

  98. 194
    ) Richard Zhou
    March 19, 2014 at 11:32 am

    Hello Nasim,
    Thanks for your excellent review, again! I also read your review of “Best Nikon Lenses for Wildlife Photography” at http://photographylife.com/best-nikon-lenses-for-wildlife-photography I have experienced some problem for the distance shot for Sand hill Cranes with Nikkor 200-400mm VRII + Nikon D800 or D7000. One day, I took over 800 photos but none of them clear although all kinds of bird actions were caught. I really do not like the result. Based on your test result on this review, you clearly stated that Nikkor 200-400mm VRII is better overall than Nikkor 300mm F4. This may be true for the range less than 200 feet. These days, I have tried to find answer from web about which lens should I buy to meet my hope to reach out longer. Same time, I am hesitating to sell the 200-400 VRII. I have Nikon D700/D800/D7000 and Nikkor 12-24mm 24-70, 70-200mm VRII, 200-400mm VRII. These are quite high priced lens. I thought to go with Nikkor 500mm F4 or Nikkor 300mm F4. The prices are much different. I am reluctant to spend another few thousands for the longer reach because I am only casual photographer. I am really thinking about this 300mm F4. But your comparison with 200-400mm makes me hesitate. Any suggestion for my case? Thanks for your help!

  99. 195
    ) Daniel
    May 1, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    Hello Nasim, I really enjoy your pro reviews. This, in particular, helped me to decide for the 300mm. Thanks to share your experience.
    Regards.
    Danny

  100. 196
    ) spencerlin
    July 19, 2014 at 5:19 pm

    hello nasim,
    which lens you will suggest for birding with nikonD7100.
    -300mm F4 with 1.4 teliconverter or 80-400mm f 4.5-5.6G ED VR.

    • 197
      ) Douglas Carr
      July 26, 2014 at 10:31 am

      read the review

  101. 198
    ) Nikon63
    July 26, 2014 at 3:57 pm

    Hi Nasim,

    Congratulations for your topic on the 300mm F4 Nikkor. I wrote all the posts about this topic with pleasure.
    I would like to know if some had any problem with dust inside the 300mm F4 because of missing back element in the optical formula. I decided to buy this lens to work with but i’m afraid about the risk of dust inside the lens. Could you please tell me if anybody get this problem?

    Regards

    Patrick

  102. 199
    ) Nikon63
    July 26, 2014 at 3:59 pm

    I apologize… You must read “i red all the posts” not “i wrote”, of course.

  103. 200
    ) Douglas Carr
    July 28, 2014 at 11:51 am

    First to Nikon63 & then to Nasim or anyone that can answer my question.

    N63 Nasim has mentioned in his summery of the lens that it’s not sealed and that dust might be a problem
    ” Cons: No back element, No VR, No Weather Sealing, Bad Tripod Collar ”

    Now can any one tell me how the Sigma 300 2.8 which I think is weather sealed compare with the Nikon 300 f4

    And how does the sigma 70-200 2.8 compare with the Nikon 70-200 2.8 and with the Nikon 70-200 f4.
    Planing to use above combo on d7100 the 300 with 1.4 x

    Appreciate all replies
    Thx

  104. 201
    ) Alan
    September 7, 2014 at 8:49 am

    Hi Nasim,

    thanks for your great review!

    I’m going for an overseas birding trip and bringing the 300 f4 lens along with 1.4 TC II. I have a D4 and a D7000 and would like your comments on the IQ of the shots coming from these two cameras used with the above lens/TC combo.

    Thanks.

  105. 202
    ) Tibor
    September 12, 2014 at 2:01 am

    Hi Nasim!

    Thanks for the review! I have an D610 camera and i am betwen tamron 150-600 and nikon 300 f4 +TC for shoting wildlife and birds. What is the better? the new 14tc iii are very nice. Can be work the 300 f4 with 20tc iii?

    Thanks

  106. 203
    ) jayatu
    September 21, 2014 at 6:48 am

    After reading this review i decided to save money to buy it. In October i will go for it. But tamorn 150-600 has made me puzzle. I am a d7000 user. Please help me what should i do?

Comment Policy: Although our team at Photography Life encourages all readers to actively participate in discussions, we reserve the right to delete / modify any content that does not comply with our Code of Conduct, or do not meet the high editorial standards of the published material.

Leave a Comment