Fuji X100 Review

To be honest, I was not planning on writing a review of the Fuji X100 camera. First, because the camera was sent to me in error. As I was preparing to send it back, I was asked if I wanted to try it out, so I agreed to check it out and ended up shooting with it for a week. Second, I did not have a chance to do a thorough analysis and comparison, because I was busy testing 35mm lenses. That’s why this is a “mini” review – I will just lay down my thoughts about the Fujifilm X100 and show you some image samples from the camera.

When I asked about the X100, I was told that “it was a hot, almost revolutionary camera”. I guess that’s why I decided to give it a try and see what it is capable of. Once I unboxed the camera, I immediately put the battery into it and started playing with it at home. It took me a couple of minutes to figure out the basics and once I put it in Aperture Priority mode and took some pictures, I was actually pleasantly surprised by what I was seeing.

Fuji X100

Positives

  1. The first thing that struck me was the optical/digital viewfinder/rangefinder that not only provides all the camera information, but also displays captured images. Now that is one cool thing I wish all DSLR cameras had! Being able to look at captured images in an enclosed space is great. With DSLRs, you either have to block the light hitting the rear LCD or you have to use third party tools such as Hoodman Loupe to be able to look at pictures in daylight. And the X100 does it in a smart way too – if you put your eye close to the viewfinder/rangerfinder, the image is shown there. Once you move the camera away from your eyes, the image gets transferred to the rear LCD.
  2. The second surprise was after I transferred the first images to my computer and started looking at them at 100% – the image quality was outstanding. Indoor images were shot at ISO 800 and above and the amount of noise present in the images was very low, at least when compared to APS-C sensors. Sharpness, colors and contrast looked good right out of the camera (first shots were taken as JPEGs).
  3. Third, the camera felt great in my hands and for the first time I felt like I could take this little camera with me everywhere I go. No matter how good images from my iPhone might look, I just do not like taking pictures with it. Sure, iPhone images might look great for the web, but you can’t print them large or use them in your portfolio. Lugging around a large DSLR is not an option either; I forget it at home most of the time anyway. It felt great when I was able to put the X100 into my jacket pocket before I left the house.
  4. Fourth, because of the 4 leaf shutter on the X100, the flash sync speed can be super fast (see the 1/2000s shot below).
  5. And lastly, people did not look intimidated by the camera when I took pictures of them. They seemed to think that it was just a point and shoot (which it kind of is), so it felt like this camera would get super popular among street photographers.

I then decided to take it for a spin on a wedding and that’s when my love with the X100 started fading away. Let me talk about the negatives now.

Negatives

  1. As my primary camera I was shooting with the D3s and used the X100 as a backup pocket camera for some indoors and outdoors shots. The first frustration was with the X100′s autofocus system. Initially, I noticed that some of the images I took at home were blurry, but since it was my first day, I thought I made some errors while taking pictures. Then the same thing happened at the wedding – many of the images I took were out of focus! And that’s with the camera beeping and letting me know that the image is in focus. It happened once, I recomposed, refocused took another picture. Then it happened again. And again and many many times after that. In many of the shots, it seemed that the camera was back-focusing, even though I was making sure to use areas with high contrast on my subjects. Well, the light was challenging in some situations, so I thought that perhaps the camera was having a hard time with the available light. Surprisingly, most images that were out of focus were taken from a close distance – once I moved away from my subjects, the focus seemed just fine. We then went outside after the groom and the bride got dressed and I took a few more pictures there. Same darn thing! I did not want to waste my time and I simply put it back into my pocket and never used it again that day. I have shot with many different cameras, including point and shoot and I have never seen anything like this before.
  2. After we got home from the wedding, I started looking for a way to manually focus the X100. It turned out manual focus was a bad idea – it was even worse than AF. I know that I should not be comparing DSLRs and DSLR lenses with the X100, but when I switch to manual focus on my DSLR, everything is easy and intuitive. If my subject is out of focus, a slight turn of the focus ring is often enough. With the X100, it took me 10+ turns to find the right focus on a close subject! I just kept on turning and turning and turning the lens ring and eventually got tired of it. Forget about manual focus with this camera.
  3. The battery on the X100 did not last me a day – it was empty before I could fill my 8 GB card (the battery was fully charged).
  4. The Fuji X100 is one slow camera! On the second day I started shooting in RAW and the write speeds on a 30MB/sec SD card were painfully slow. I used the same card on the Nikon D5100 and the camera had no problems writing to the card – I was getting 4 FPS on it. And the X100 is useless when it is busy writing to the card.
  5. And finally, with all of the above problems, the Fuji X100 costs a whopping $1,200 – as much as a brand new Nikon D7000!

So, what is my overall impression? Until Fuji fixes the AF and Manual focus issues (hopefully via a firmware upgrade), I cannot recommend this camera for any sort of serious work. It certainly has a great potential, especially for street photography, but for now, it is just an overpriced point and shoot camera. If you learn how to live around its limitations and problems, you could get great results with it though.

P.S. I did update the X100′s firmware to the latest version and it did not resolve the focus issues I described above.

Image Samples (EXIF data is embedded):

Fuji X100 Sample #1

Here is an example of a focus issue (with a bokeh example) – I focused on the “Bridal” text, but it is clearly out of focus:

Fuji X100 Sample #2

The camera works great for landscape photography:

Fuji X100 Sample #3

Fuji X100 Sample #4

Fuji X100 Sample #5

Some sample portraits using flash:

Fuji X100 Sample #6

Example of 1/2000s high speed sync:

Fuji X100 Sample #9

Some B&W and sepia conversion in Photoshop:

Fuji X100 Sample #7

Fuji X100 Sample #8

Fuji X100 Review4.0454545454545Nasim Mansurov2011-08-02 23:40:35Read this mini review of the Fujifilm X100 camera with some details and a list of pros and cons
Build Quality
Focus Speed and Accuracy
Handling
Value
Features
Image Quality
High ISO Performance
Size and Weight
Metering and Exposure
Movie Recording Features
Dynamic Range
Photography Life Overall Rating

Comments

  1. 1
    ) Michael
    August 6, 2011 at 5:35 am

    Fuji X100 review??? What a surprise!
    Well i think X100 hopes to be a much cheaper alternative to Leica:)
    Thank you for this short review Nasim!

    • August 7, 2011 at 12:55 pm

      Michael, I agree – except Leica fans obviously say X100 cannot compete with anything Leica :)

  2. 2
    ) Jahongir
    August 6, 2011 at 5:46 am

    Hello Nasim aka, what do you think about EVIL cameras?

    Any reviews you are planning to write about any of them?

    • August 7, 2011 at 12:52 pm

      Jahongir, yes, I am planning to review the Nikon mirrorless camera when it comes out…

  3. 3
    ) Jahongir
    August 6, 2011 at 5:50 am

    Oops, didn’t pay attention, Fuxi X100 IS an evil camera :))

    I should see what lenses are compatible with this, but anyway the camera is i think too pricey..

    • 4
      ) Michael
      August 6, 2011 at 6:10 am

      Well the problem is…you can’t change a lens with X100 :/
      So don’t look for lenses which would work with X100 :/

      • 5
        ) Jahongir
        August 6, 2011 at 6:25 am

        Really? Then why is it that expensive?
        From the picture, I thought it was a lens-interchangeable camera like Sony NEX series

        • August 7, 2011 at 12:54 pm

          That’s the problem – it is overpriced for what it can currently do, in my opinion.

    • August 7, 2011 at 12:53 pm

      As Michael pointed out, the X100 has a built-in lens that cannot be removed.

      • 43
        ) Tenisd
        January 4, 2012 at 3:26 am

        so Fuji X100 is not EVIL :)
        I personaly think its priced right and worth every penny.
        Low light capabilities and sharpness + overall image quality in so small size.

  4. 6
    ) Dan
    August 6, 2011 at 7:10 am

    Thanks for the review, I had the same first impressions when I went shooting with mine the first few times. I think your images are very well done, incredible detail in them, these I believe prove that the X100 is a serious camera in the hands of a real craftsmen.
    Well done!
    DanG

  5. 7
    ) Peter
    August 6, 2011 at 7:11 am

    No reviewers, including you, seem to be jumping up and down over this expensive- retro- nostalgia-rangefinder like camera. The focusing problem is a killer issue,but the price is outrageous – a deal breaker.

    I would guess that the Fuji marketing department ran the show on this one and muffled any opposition from their R&D group.

    Chalk up one “bomb” product for Fuji an otherwise excellent company.

    • August 7, 2011 at 12:50 pm

      I agree – the product is overpriced. I hope Nikon does not make the same mistake with their upcoming mirror less camera.

  6. 8
    ) Kevin
    August 7, 2011 at 4:34 am

    Thank you for another brilliant review. Although you call it a ‘mini-review’, your succinct review really is a full review in it’s own right. And your photos prove you put it through some serious testing.

    My hat does go off to you for chancing a new camera at a wedding!

    Your firm negative conclusion really puts into perspective a reason not to purchase the camera. I am also looking for a P&S I can take when the full dSLR kit is too heavy. And apart from the Leica M9 which is exorbitantly expensive, especially if you include lenses, I would love to see some mini-camera reviews that could fit the bill.

    At the price and with the focussing issues you describe, there is no way I would purchase that camera.

    • August 7, 2011 at 12:45 pm

      You are most welcome, thank you for your feedback!

  7. 18
    ) Migs
    August 7, 2011 at 2:05 pm

    I own one of these, and I love it. Never taken so many pictures, and so many good ones. Yes, it has autofocus problems, and its has many quirks, but you can go around most of them, and then totally forget about them when you see the results. And on the high note there is a real pleasure of holding it and pressing the absolutely silent shutter. Not a camera for everybody that’s for sure. You have to really love the 35mm. And lastly, overpriced? I don’t think so, why would it be out of stock everywhere? I think it’s actually under-priced, they could have put a higher price and still sell the same amount of cameras. Don’t forget what price really means. If it were a commodity, like sugar or oil, it’s price would have gone up. Price is what you would pay for it, too expensive for you? maybe. But not for most of the people buying it.

    • August 7, 2011 at 2:32 pm

      Migs, thank you for your feedback! I am glad you are enjoying the X100. You are right, it is not for everyone. I did not have as good of an experience as you did, but it does not mean that it is a bad camera – afterall, the above review is solely my opinion. I am sure many photographers like you are satisfied with it and love the results.

      Have a great day and thanks for stopping by and sharing your experience.

    • 19
      ) Michael
      August 7, 2011 at 2:45 pm

      Out of stock everywhere? Here in England it’s widely available with price about £1000 ($1600).

      • August 7, 2011 at 2:47 pm

        Wow, $1,600 huh? :) No wonder why it is available…

        • 20
          ) Migs
          August 7, 2011 at 3:43 pm

          It was back then on May/July… but as far as I know there were stock problems in the US and France too. This might not be the case now. Anyway, I admit I might get carried away. One will be hard pressed to admit that one paid an overpriced product no? After the first few days I was really thinking of giving the camera back, but after a while I started getting results and I’m very happy with it. Very nice photos Nasim BTW.

          • 21
            ) Peter
            August 7, 2011 at 4:22 pm

            This is my rule of thumb when considering the purchase of a costly piece of photographic equipment: I wait for the reviews to come out (1-2 months) and then evaluate all of them against my needs (not wants). I NEVER buy a camera or expensive lens before the reviews have been published. I am not an early adopter when it comes to complicated electronic stuff.

            This knowledge-based approach has never (repeat, never) failed me in over 50 years of photo purchases.

  8. 22
    ) Dan
    August 7, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    When I was looking to purchase this camera, I was looking for a camera that I can carry with me everywhere. I already have a Canon 1DsMrkIII with several lenses for my work, this camera is for MY pleasure, and that is why I purchased it. If I could afford a Leica M9-P with a 35mmF2 lens I would of bought that, but I can’t afford that unless I was tomsell all my Canon stuff and I’m not ready to do that as I need to earn a living.
    Not once have I been out shooting with my X100 did I say, darn I wish I had my 1Ds. I get the shots I want and I’m having a ton of fun.
    In the end I could have bought a Nikon D7000 for the same dollars, but I wanted a camera that was simple to use and one 35mm lens, that’s all. I might purchase a Leica M-6 one day and go back to film, still have all my Hasselblad stuff and my Sinar 4X5 as well, the X100 is a fun camera.

    Dan

    • August 24, 2011 at 10:14 pm

      Dan, thank you for sharing – I am glad to hear that the X100 is working out for you. And you are not alone – many X100 owners love the results they are getting. The X100 has a great potential. I hope Fuji addresses the current issues and puts more effort into making the next version even better – I might buy one then.

    • 53
      ) June
      October 4, 2012 at 1:46 am

      … would HAVE … not would OF !

      Its a common mistake (esp. you Americans!): you’re trying to write “would’ve”, which is a contraction of “would have”, which sounds like “would of”, if spoken quickly.

      HTH

      • 58
        ) Keith
        July 26, 2013 at 4:53 am

        Ah yes! Surprising how much bad grammar there is posted across the Internet when converting speech to text. Worse still, we are often bombarded with cell phone/text language and urban speak, which is far more irritating than the odd grammatical error.

  9. 23
    ) Rob Olson
    August 7, 2011 at 6:31 pm

    Your equipment reviews are excellent. You call a spade a spade.
    You are quite right about the Fujifilm X100. I bought it and returned
    it one week later due to the problems about focusing. A Nikon D7000
    runs circles around it. Too many problems to deal with as life is too
    short to struggle with their shortcomings.

    Continue with your great equipment reviews.

  10. August 8, 2011 at 3:16 am

    It doesn’t matter the size of camera, when u’ve got bakalajka))))

  11. 25
    ) Alfredo Gotay
    August 8, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    I was thinking about getting the X100 for my lightweight/travel camera (I shoot with a D700 and heavy pro glass). In the end I went for the new Olympus E-P3 because of its superior autofocus and interchangeable lenses. Only drawback I think is lack of viewfinder and smaller sensor means inferior IQ. Would be awesome if you could review it.

    • August 24, 2011 at 10:16 pm

      Alfredo, maybe someday…gotta keep up with all the Nikon stuff first :) I am already thinking about adding Sony reviews – their latest DSLRs are phenomenal.

      • 37
        ) Patrick Sullivan
        September 20, 2011 at 2:14 pm

        I have been curious about Olympus DSLR’s; they claim to have VR built into the body. That would be a game changer if Nikon and Canon were to do something similar.

  12. 26
    ) Carmelo
    August 8, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    There is a review of the X100 on dpreview.com

    Problems with the accuracy of autofocus:
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/FujifilmX100/page10.asp

    Problems with sharpness:
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/FujifilmX100/page16.asp

    It seems that the lens suffers from strong spherical aberration. This could be the reason of lacking sharpness wide open. On the other it’s fantastic that this lens has a focus distance of only 10cm. I think that there are probably a lot of compromises in the lens design. But this is normal for other lenses, too. E.g. Leica lenses have a very high resolution wide open, but they have a minimal focus distance of only about 70cm.

  13. 27
    ) Dengx
    August 16, 2011 at 3:24 am

    Hello Nasim,

    I have X100 for a few months now, I agree that its autofocus is slow in dim light, manual focus is close to useless unless using it with AF prefocus.

    But I can’t really agree about misfocusing. I learned that:

    - EVF gives much better results than OVF – in OVF you can’t really tell where AF hits for sure – it is not a SLR with through-the-lens view after all :) – this is due to design and parallax, this is VERY important for close distances and small subjects, that is why OVF is disabled in macro mode aswell, this can’t be changed in firmware (although a second box was added to OVF in firmware 1.10 to remind you of parallax)

    - EVF focus box can be changed (to a smaller, more precise one) via AF button + command dial, I keep mine as small as possible

    - due to the lens design it needs to be put in macro mode starting at relatively large distances – even 1m at times, anything closer than 80cm requires macro mode all of the time, yes AF is even more slow then, yes it’s not fun switching modes back and forth

    - lens is not designed to work in macro mode with f faster than f/4, f/2.8 works mostly ok though

    Keeping all of that in mind I get properly focused beautiful images almost all of the time :)

    TLDR:
    - use EVF with close distances and small subjects
    - use the smallest focus box possible
    - use macro at 1 m and closer
    - don’t use macro with f/2

    Regards

    • 28
      ) hexx
      August 24, 2011 at 6:22 am

      thanks a lot Dengx, this will help me once i get mine X100 (need to sell my dSLR with lenses at first). that’s what i thought that most of the people don’t realize that it’s not ‘through the lens’ and therefore if they try to use it for close subjects they shouldn’t rely on OVF. I read somewhere that new fw fixed this issue too and gives you two ‘focus’ points in OVF with digital overlay, one for ‘real’ focus point, the one sensor sees.

    • August 24, 2011 at 10:20 pm

      Dengx, thank you so much for providing the comprehensive information on focusing with the X100! Looks like there are more workarounds – hopefully Fuji will make it easier to use the camera with the next firmware update.

  14. September 3, 2011 at 4:03 am

    Hi

    I think I know what is your focus issue – the lens, much like a Leica rangefinder, has a minimum focus distance of only 0.8m, or 80cm or thereabouts. To focus closer, you have to toggle the special macro focus mode – this operation is not automatic. That would explain why your close-up shots were not in focus but once you are further away the focus is perfect.

    With a normal rangefinder lens, the min focus for a 35mm is about 70cm, so the X100 in a sense is better specced :) but it really should warn the user of this min focus limit or better still, switch automatically to macro mode….

    • September 7, 2011 at 2:32 pm

      David, thank you for your feedback – hopefully Fuji will address these issues in the next firmware update. At least a warning of some sort would help…

      • 45
        ) Tim R
        February 26, 2012 at 11:36 am

        hey Nasim
        great review and pix on the x100 sorry to hear of your issues with the focusing with it I too was considering purchasing this camera but waiting on reviews of their new Xpro-1 camera in which I hear they improved the focusing issues and made major improvements to the clunky menu system and added a cool quick menu.. darn i wish they included that in the x100… perhaps we shall see what they will come up with on the next X200? (crossing my fingers).. I’m liking the sound of the Xpro-1 but not liking the all black paint job on it as i preferred the silver/black retro look of the x100 Hope you will do a review of the X Pro-1 someday ;)
        Many Thanks ;)

  15. 38
    ) clarence
    September 24, 2011 at 5:10 am

    Hi Nasim,

    Thanks for your review. May I ask how did you hook up your flash? It looks like it’s off-camera. Were you triggering it with PW or something else? What your flash set up?

    I have an X100 and I love it! I do quite a bit of street photography, and most of the pictures on my site was been taken by it.

  16. 39
    ) Tyler Parker
    November 1, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    I just purchased this camera for the same reasons you’ve described, size, flexibility with the iso, and whatever else. I was wondering if you guys had worked with the raws in other programs besides whats given on the cd to convert the raw files. Ran into trouble trying to download the programs on lion.

  17. 40
    ) Nivas
    November 28, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    Hi Nasim:

    Thanks for the review. It is a surprise you reviewed this camera.

    How does the color out of this camera compared to Nikon (skin tone) ?

    On a separate note, I have downloaded so-called Fujifilm colors (picture controls) into my D700. I have a mixed feeling with those.

    It is a great coincidence as I am toying with idea of buying it’s new sibling (X10 – which seemed to have addressed some of the negatives) – for kids shoot in the park or out on a walking.

    X10 feels good in the hand – felt colors bit warmer. Also, elsewhere there was comparison with Canon S100 – I saw few differences on the grey and white colors (Canon looked to be more accurate).

    Bit pricey – The prices do not seem to drop on Black Friday or on-line today.

    Thanks.

    • November 29, 2011 at 12:34 am

      Nivas, the colors on the X100 are very good. As for using picture controls, don’t use fuji colors on Nikon – that won’t really give you anything good. I have heard a lot of good things on the X10 – it is a great camera!

      • 42
        ) Nivas
        December 2, 2011 at 5:04 pm

        Thanks Nasim. I am seriously considering it.

        Thanks for your feedback on the picture controls.

  18. 44
    ) Nick A
    February 15, 2012 at 12:06 pm

    As a wedding photographer lugging around 2 5D, i was hoping to replace one of them (the one attache to the 24-70) . The x100 looked like it would fit the bill, so thanks for your review, you saved me $1,400, if it can’t focus consitantly, then what’s the point.

  19. 46
    ) Jon
    March 25, 2012 at 6:42 am

    Why don’t the camera manufacturers build a decent compact camera? Something like a rangefinder style, it must have manual and aperture and priority settings. All this at a reasonable price, and not a silly over inflated price. The cameras out at the moment are very poor indeed, with the exception of the fuji x100 this is a nice little camera, but very poor video. Also the price is crazy, it should be about £200 in price, there is no need to be asking £700 for it.

    The Fuji x100 is too expensive

  20. 47
    ) Tiago Cena
    April 15, 2012 at 11:34 am

    Hi Nassim! Your reviews are always down to earth! And that’s a good thing considering there are so many biased reviews out there… it would be great if you could review Fujifilm X-Pro1!

  21. 48
    ) David
    April 16, 2012 at 2:28 pm

    Since FW 1.21 the autofocus is really good, could you please update your review?

  22. April 17, 2012 at 9:56 am

    I recently splurged on the X100 Black Limited Edition and I have to say it’s a photographers camera all the way… I shoot professionally for Reebok/adidas and in the studio we use quality Nikon gear, but for my personal work I’ve found this camera to be an incredibly useful tool… As you stated, there are quirks, and it’s not a camera that just anyone will be able to use.

    In saying that, I will also point out that one of the major gripes was the menu system… No, it’s not Nikon’s menu, nor is it Canons, it’s Fuji’s… Just like Olympus has it’s own system, and Lumix has it’s own menu. I didn’t find anything in the menu system that seemed out of place. It’s a new system, you learn to use it…

    The focus issue was something that threw a lot of folks for a loop, and that’s mainly because the manual didn’t do a great job of explaining what was happening with the parallax issue. The firmware update did add a secondary focus box to correct for that, but yes, that was a little misunderstood, but still not a problem, as when you switched into EVF mode, you got a “through the lens” view and focusing is spot on every time. Manual focus mode is ok if you know how to use it, but I will say that I’ve never found a manual focus mode as easy to use as in my older Lumix G1 with my Nikon glass attached…

    I absolutely love the fact that all the manual controls are on the outside of the camera with the exception of the ISO control. This camera begs you to take it out and create imagery, but as I said before, it’s not for people who like the camera to do it all for them… It’s for serious, intentional shooting… If one can accept that fact, they will be rewarded with incredible image quality, and never want to be without this camera.

    Your test images are fantastic, and really show what folks who know what they ‘re doing can create with this camera… It’s not for soccer moms or to be used at sporting events, but something that you want to create real art with… As far as cost, I find that even though I splurged for the limited edition, at a cost of what I could have picked up a D7000 and a lens, I have no remorse or regret in my purchase, and as far as I’m concerned, there isn’t a better camera out there for the money that can do what the Fuji X100 can (image quality, and making you want to get outside and shoot with it). sut my thoughts, and keep up the great work!

    - Jeremy D. Meier

  23. 50
    ) David
    May 14, 2012 at 9:01 am

    Hi Nasim,

    I wrote a review on my page and had some complaints about the autofocus too, though I think my results were better than yours with the new fw1.2. The X100 isn’t really suitable for action or moving subjects but I would use one at a wedding for detail shots, candids of guests and for epic off-camera flash (with the sync speed of 1/2000 to play with!)

    But the still image quality is ridiculous. Blow away any other 12mp camera I’ve ever used. I’ve posted about 20 full-sized samples for download on my site:

    http://www.frescoglobe.com/2012/05/14/fuji-x100-hands-on-review/

  24. 51
    ) George
    June 27, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    I cannot believe you people call yourself professionals. I have shot photos with slrs, tlrs, rangefinders, dslrs, point and shoot and 4 x 5s. What you’re missing is rangefinder cameras have what is known as parralax error(the distance between the viewfinder and the lens). Even though this camera is not a true rangefinder, it does have parralax error. If you use the AF ( at close distances) and using the optical viewfinder, you will be focusing on an object that is not aligned with the taking lens. Switch to the digital viewfinder. You will then be auto focusing directly through the taking lens.

  25. 52
    ) ryan
    September 18, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    hi Nasim, i have been reading your reviews without posting any comments. But nice review you have there for the X100!

    Personally, i find that the autofocus speed and accuracy has improved a lot since the latest firmware version 1.3. Though it is not as fast as my D700 with a 35mm 1.4G or 50mm 1.8G, it is still quite acceptable to me. X100 does have some problems focusing in low light low contrast, but in general it is still a camera that i would gladly bring around with me everywhere. As the saying goes, the best camera is the one that is always with you :)

  26. 54
    ) Keith
    December 16, 2012 at 9:29 am

    To get the bridal text in focus I would have set the focus to manual and set the Auto Focus Lock button to A/F Only, and then used the AF/Lock button. It would have hit the target spot precisely. Otherwise I would have switched to Macro focus. You were obviously too close to hit focus. I find that as long as the target is at least seven feet in distance I have no trouble with very quick focus. The A/F is no worse than my late Canon 5dMKII. It’s just a matter of working with what you have got and that means taking time to work out a camera’s foibles.

  27. 55
    ) Jay
    May 10, 2013 at 11:04 pm

    How about a review of the new X100s. I believe it is supposed to take care of the problems mentioned in this article.

  28. 56
    ) Love2Eat
    July 26, 2013 at 4:25 am

    Hey Nasim, are you planning to do a review of X100S at some point? (I noticed that some of the readers have asked that already). I am seriously planning to downsize to a smaller cam, it will be either an X100S or the Oli OM-D E-M5. Just need to make up my mind.

    • July 26, 2013 at 4:46 am

      Glad you asked that question :) All Fuji cameras and lenses are on their way, except the X100s, which is currently not available anywhere. If I don’t get it within the next week or so, I will be asking a friend to lend it to me for a week or two.

      The goal is to review every single Fuji camera + lens within the next few months. Fuji X-Pro1 will be re-evaluated based on the new firmware.

  29. 59
    ) grady
    July 28, 2013 at 7:52 pm

    As the focus problem, are there any solution ?

  30. September 11, 2013 at 6:34 am

    Great review!!! Thank you very much. I’m looking to supplement my arsenal with a mirrorless as well. Have you tested the Sony NEX system? I’m looking at getting the NEX 5. How does that compare with this camera?

    Thanks again

Leave a Comment